MS Windows 7

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by r62861848, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. r62861848
    Offline

    r62861848 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everyone,

    How is run MS Windows7 OS in iPad?

    rashesh
  2. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    You cant, the ipad runs its own OS.
  3. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    The iPad uses as frugal 256 of ram whereas win7 needs a minimum of 1gb (yes I know some have managed with 512 but that's masochism.....)

    Also win7 is cursor based whereas iOS is touch based.
  4. Bremen
    Offline

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Sort of like wanting to put a diesel truck engine in a Miata.
  5. jackiemac
    Offline

    jackiemac iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Earlier this year They announced they that Citrix was going to offer a product that would let you run Windows 7 via virtualization. It hasn't shipped yet.

    Using iTeleport (a VNC iPad app) you can control and view a Windows 7 desktop. It's kind of like running Windows 7 on an iPad. :)
  6. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    There have been tons of remote apps for the iphone and iPad.

    Check out one called WinAdmin. Works great, but this is just access to a remote desktop its not running windows on the device like the OP asked about.
  7. stevebostedor
    Offline

    stevebostedor iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  8. iPadCharlie
    Offline

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,239
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Totally awesome link to the Team Viewer app!! I just installed it an it is a breeze. And furthermore, and as Drew Carey says (well actually the announcer Rich Fields says it), the price is right.

    But technically, the iPad is not running Windows. It is just painting a picture on my iPad's screen of what the host computer is doing.

    EDIT: I am 53 and I don't use terms like "totally awesome" very often!
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2010
  9. arshield
    Offline

    arshield iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    marietta, ga
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am pretty happy with the teamviewer app. It is free (huge plus) and will do what I had considered buying logmein for.
  10. Bremen
    Offline

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    When you reach my age (57) you will change from "totally awesome" to "freakin' amazing" :D
  11. Hasty
    Offline

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,282
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    You don't need that app often but when you do it's pretty neat.
    And saves getting out of the garden chair in this heat......
  12. stephaniH
    Offline

    stephaniH iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    win7 on youtube

    I think I saw some video with Win 7 runs on iPad. Google it
  13. davidhburton
    Offline

    davidhburton iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
  14. a2poor
    Offline

    a2poor iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    RDP Lite doesn't require you to install anything on the computer(s) you're connecting to, which is a + to me.
  15. nooris
    Offline

    nooris iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OMG, RDP Lite FTW! :)
  16. jmschwartz
    Offline

    jmschwartz iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    And when you reach my age (61), you'll say, "Eh? Come again." :)
  17. mrtoby
    Offline

    mrtoby iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I use team viewer all the time, i think it is your best bet!
  18. Mike_73
    Offline

    Mike_73 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tried the lite version and liked it. I then bought the full version which is even better with the F-button keyboard and mouse-options.
    I found out in another forum that you can use it even with win Home editions if you patch a system dll.

Share This Page