MS Windows 7

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by r62861848, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. r62861848

    r62861848 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everyone,

    How is run MS Windows7 OS in iPad?

    rashesh
     
  2. MikesTooLz

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    You cant, the ipad runs its own OS.
     
  3. Hasty

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    The iPad uses as frugal 256 of ram whereas win7 needs a minimum of 1gb (yes I know some have managed with 512 but that's masochism.....)

    Also win7 is cursor based whereas iOS is touch based.
     
  4. Bremen

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,351
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Sort of like wanting to put a diesel truck engine in a Miata.
     
  5. jackiemac

    jackiemac iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Earlier this year They announced they that Citrix was going to offer a product that would let you run Windows 7 via virtualization. It hasn't shipped yet.

    Using iTeleport (a VNC iPad app) you can control and view a Windows 7 desktop. It's kind of like running Windows 7 on an iPad. :)
     
  6. MikesTooLz

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    There have been tons of remote apps for the iphone and iPad.

    Check out one called WinAdmin. Works great, but this is just access to a remote desktop its not running windows on the device like the OP asked about.
     
  7. stevebostedor

    stevebostedor iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  8. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Totally awesome link to the Team Viewer app!! I just installed it an it is a breeze. And furthermore, and as Drew Carey says (well actually the announcer Rich Fields says it), the price is right.

    But technically, the iPad is not running Windows. It is just painting a picture on my iPad's screen of what the host computer is doing.

    EDIT: I am 53 and I don't use terms like "totally awesome" very often!
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2010
  9. arshield

    arshield iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    marietta, ga
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am pretty happy with the teamviewer app. It is free (huge plus) and will do what I had considered buying logmein for.
     
  10. Bremen

    Bremen iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,351
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    home
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    When you reach my age (57) you will change from "totally awesome" to "freakin' amazing" :D
     
  11. Hasty

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    You don't need that app often but when you do it's pretty neat.
    And saves getting out of the garden chair in this heat......
     
  12. stephaniH

    stephaniH iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    win7 on youtube

    I think I saw some video with Win 7 runs on iPad. Google it
     
  13. davidhburton

    davidhburton iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
  14. a2poor

    a2poor iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    RDP Lite doesn't require you to install anything on the computer(s) you're connecting to, which is a + to me.
     
  15. nooris

    nooris iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    OMG, RDP Lite FTW! :)
     

Share This Page