Moving and deleting pictures...

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Pkerr100, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Pkerr100
    Offline

    Pkerr100 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    New user here...

    I see when I take pictures of my kids with the iPAD they go into an album called "camera roll"

    I create an album called kids for keeping the pictures of my kids

    I can "move" the pictures from camera roll album to kids album but if I delete them off of camera roll it also deletes them from the kids album. Is the way it's supposed to work? At least with pictures taken withthe iPAD?

    Thanks
  2. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,293
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Ratings:
    +87 / 0
    Yes, silly as it is, that's the way it's "supposed" to work. In fact, when you thought you "moved" photos to your new "album," all you did was to create a secondary reference for the photos. It's similar to "tagging" the photo with two tags, one for the Camera Roll and a second for "Kids." The only way to truly "move" photos from one album to another is to back up your photos on your PC, create copies in the desired folders on the PC (i.e. "move" them), delete those photos from the Camera Roll folder on the PC, and then sync the photos (including the new folders/albums).
  3. iMoo
    Offline

    iMoo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Happy New Year! I think this is the most relevant thread so...I have the same quandary as pkerr100. I have an ipad 2 with iOS5. Absolutely love it!

    It seems that one can create various new albums in the standard Photos App then 'add to' the new album, photos from Camera Roll. However, when I do this, copies of the photos I have 'moved' [or 'referenced' in the new album back to Camera Roll] appear to re-appear in Camera Roll as duplicates. (1) is this normal? and (2) does this use more disk space on the iPad?
Similar Threads
  1. kgb
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    34,070
  2. pettit1988
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    975
  3. wullie1967
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    3,848
  4. matt5968
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,158
  5. markuse51
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,165
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i delete camera roll after moving phot to an album
,

can i delete camera roll from ipad

,
can i move pictures from my camera roll to a new album wiithout duplicates
,
clear photos in camera roll once they are moved to an album
,
delete from camera roll but not album ipad2
,
delete photos once moved to album
,
deleting pics from ipad camera roll
,
how ro delete photo in camera roll on ipad but not album
,
how to move photos to new folder then delete from.canera.roll
,
if i mobe pictures in ipad 2 can i delete them on the camera
,
ipad delete photo in camera roll keep in album
,
ipad deleting photos moved to albums
,
ipad how to delete pictures for camera roll with out deleting from album
,
ipad move camera roll pictures to an album
,
ipad2 delete camera roll with delete albums
,
move camera roll pictures from ipad to albums
,
moving photos from messages to camera roll ipad
,
moving photos to albums on ipad and delete camera roll
,

moving pictures off camera roll ipad

,
moving pictures to new album then deleting from camera roll