MobileMe Does Not Locate iPad2 On Map?

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by msny, Jul 15, 2011.

  1. msny

    msny iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So I've had the ipad2 a week now. Setup fine on my
    wi-fi network. I'm loving it.

    Setup Mobile Me last Saturday, to locate
    the device. Apple ID and password working fine.

    Going to travel soon, so checked the map and it does not show up
    with a message "Location Not Found".

    It does give me a message box with the iPads correct name and options
    to Lock Wipe or Play a Sound.

    But why doesnt it locate it on the map?
    Open to suggestions on how to correct this.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2011
  2. hjsimpson

    hjsimpson iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's a 3G iPad right?
     
  3. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,244
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,002 / 1
    Unless it is a 3G iPad it can only report its location when it is connected to Wi-Fi.
     
  4. msny

    msny iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    After upgrading to iOS 4.3.3 it now shows up on the mobile me map locator.
    I have wi-fi version.
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,244
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,002 / 1
    I don't know why you should need to upgrade, but I'm glad it's working now.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad location mobile me

,

links: www.travelsoon.com