What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Making formulas work across multiple sheets in numbers

Angy

iPF Noob
Reaction score
image.jpg
image.jpg
Hi folks. I'm a forum newbie so I hope I'm doing this correctly. I use my iPad for collecting field data for ecological research as well as recreation.
Can anybody can help me please? I'm looking for a formula to do the following:
Sum the values for each species of each survey method. Then for each species, take the highest value for any one survey method and place it in the multi totals sheet under the correct survey date, pond number and species category. Do not count larva. I'm only interested in adults and in the case of GCN, juveniles.
That is probably as clear as a murky pond!
If so let me know if you don't get it and will try to elucidate.
Thanks

Last edited:

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
You are probably looking for the SUMIF and/or the SUMIFS functions.

SUMIF adds all items in a column/row that match the condition in another column/row. For instance, if you matched Frog in the Species row of your second table you could sum just those cells in the Survey 1 column that are in the same row.

SUMIFS does the same thing, but lets you use multiple conditions. So if you had two columns, say one for species and one for development, you could sum only entries that match both Frog and Adult.

There are several other xxxIF and xxxIFS functions which might be handy, like counting, averages, etc. They are in the Statistical category.