What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Make a weblink to a local html file?

Tobyr21

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi, I'm an iPad2 newbie. When I use a Windows PC, my "homepage" is an html file. On my ipad, I would like to make a weblink to that same file, so that in one click, I can start Safari on my local home page. How do I do this?

So far, I did an "add to library" of the file (in itunes) and synced to my iPad. I have no idea how or where to find the file, if indeed I managed, in that way, to get it onto the iPad.

The file's name is homepage.htm . I know that Apple associates files with apps. Do I need to rename it (e.g.: homepage.html )?

How do I find the file on the iPad? I would be very happy if I could ask safari to open local html files, but I can't figure out how to do this.

Thanks in advance for your help.

graywolf

iPF Noob
Reaction score
If you are trying to make a website link on springboard then you can do that in safari. Just tap the arrow coming out of the box at the top of safari and then tap "add to home screen". If that's not it, I have no idea what you want to do.

The Alternative

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
thealternativeone.blogspot.com
If you are trying to make a website link on springboard then you can do that in safari. Just tap the arrow coming out of the box at the top of safari and then tap "add to home screen". If that's not it, I have no idea what you want to do.

I think that's exactly what the OP is looking for.