Mac RDP - not VNC - no app install... does it exist?

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by skater_boy, Jan 31, 2012.

  1. skater_boy

    skater_boy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've waded through the huge thread on RDP for Mac but I didn't see what I was looking for.

    I need a way to remote into Mac's without the need to install an app or activate the VNC protocol. Does such a beast exist?
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,244
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,002 / 1
    Since Apple has not made a Back to My Mac or Remote Apple Desktop app, I'd say no. VNC or an app installed on the Mac are pretty much it. I'm pretty sure those use VNC, btw.

    Though there is SSH, if you were willing to settle for shell commands.
     
  3. iPadFreaksow

    iPadFreaksow iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    There is no way to remote access a Mac without installing applications or activating services, why wouldn't you want to use one? It's not that they are slowing down your Mac.
     
  4. skater_boy

    skater_boy iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It isn't my choice. I'm a third party tech and Corporate dictates the rules ie no VNC and no unauthorized app (yes I did ask and they say that only Apple Remote Desktop is approved). I was hoping that someone had created an app that was able to communicate via the Apple Remote Desktop protocols or Screen Share without the need to activate VNC. They also approve SSH but the command line is not my "forté".

    I don't understand why Apple still hasn't released an iPad version of ARD.

    Thanks anyways.
     
  5. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,244
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,002 / 1
    It would probably be painfully slow, but you could probably remote control a Mac that runs ARD and use it to control a corporate machine. Though I suspect they would frown on it if they knew.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does the rdc ipad app need to be installed on the desktop

,

rdp ipad not installations

,

remote desktop from ipad to mac

,

remote desktop into mac without vnc