What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looking for advice. Stroke patient

Underwhere

iPF Noob
Reaction score
A few days ago I got word that my dad had a stroke with some right side paralysis. He has very little movement in his right arm and let (he is right handed).

It occurred to me that maybe something like the iPad would be a great way for him to rehab so I scrambled today to find him one and picked up a 16GB iPad 2.

I'm not an iPad guy and much prefer laptops and desktops (and PC's) but I think there is a true need for this right now.

I'm looking for some advice on setting up this device as I have very little experience with it.

Constraints:
1. My dad has never used a computer. Ever. He doesn't know how to type. This is going to be a huge learning experience for him. What people consider "intuitive", he is not going to. I have to make this as simple as possible.

2. I have to configure here in the US and send the iPad overseas so I want to set up everything I can so the he doesn't have to. I'd hate to have this thing go to waste and introducing something too complicated will be discouraging.

3. He has limited use of his right hand and arm at the moment. Hoping to use the iPad to assist in rehabbing motor functions.

4. He is on the other side of the world and it will be difficult for me to provide support for him.

What to do:

1. I loaded some pictures and videos for him but am wondering how to somehow load vids and pics up to the cloud, have him hit a button and see the the new ones we upload. Any applications allow you to do that?