Location location location

Discussion in 'iPad Air Forum' started by Badlands, Aug 6, 2014.

  1. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Have tried that too.
     
  2. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    image.jpg Can't even get the right time zone.
     
  3. abababababab

    abababababab
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4,147
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Location of an iPad is retrieved from Apple's database. If your router is comparatively new, Apple has no way to get your location instantly from the database, so that may be the problem. It will eventually be updated. The time varies from a few days to a few months to detect your wifi router, and even a year to get your exact location. Even my location isn't exactly accurate after a year of my being with the iPad.

    Did you buy a new router recently?
     
  4. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got a new AirPort Extreme last year. The iPad Locations worked with it for several months. Then they just quit last month.
     
  5. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I also submitted my location and MAC address to Skyhook.
     
  6. jwt873

    jwt873
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Have you tried taking your iPad Air for a ride to a built-up area with one or more WiFi signals present? If your locations service still doesn't work even after doing a reset, then it probably is the Air.. In that case, I'd suggest returning it to Apple... '

    But if you do get a location showing up with other WiFi signals nearby, then it's most likely that your location has some how 'fallen off' the database...
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  7. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Will try that tomorrow.
    Thank you.
     
  8. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It does work away from home.
     
  9. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    24,355
    Thanks Received:
    5,537
    That almost certainly means that the lack of location services while on your home WiFi is almost certainly the fault of your router. Is it possible for you to disconnect your router and try a different one?
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  10. Badlands

    Badlands
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If I try a different router I have to call my provider & change lots of settings.......I will wait a while and see if Skyhook works. Thank you for your help.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

skyhook virgin media router