Location error on ipad 2.

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Meanderpaul, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Meanderpaul
    Offline

    Meanderpaul iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have been trying to use apps on my iPad sense I got it a couple of weeks ago and some can use current location. When I try to use this feature it places me in Springfield mass. And I am not in springfield yet along mass. I have a wifi only 16gb iPad 2 with no 3G. I'm out of ideas on how I can fix this and get the correct current location. I would love some assistance on this matter.
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    The WiFi iPad does not have GPS, because the GPS functionality is built into the 3G chipset used in the iPad, and can only determine its location if it's within range of a WiFi basestation that has its location registered in a central database - like most WiFi hotspots. If you're at home, your WiFi probably isn't registered there, so your iPad will be unable to determine its location.

    Tim
  3. Meanderpaul
    Offline

    Meanderpaul iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm using wifi from my college I would think it has the location set to here because my ip app says it is here and the Internet is from a local company in town.
  4. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
  5. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,275
    Thanks Received:
    1,989
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,223 / 1
    Make sure you have Location services turned on in settings, and on for whatever app you are using.

    Something tells me have the right time zone under Settings >> General >> Time might be important too, but I'm by no means sure about that.
  6. Meanderpaul
    Offline

    Meanderpaul iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm on a different wireless now and am located correctly but when I use the ipmap app Its says I'm located in Lisbon nh but the ipmap on the other wireless and located in unity Maine I'm located on maps app in Springfield mass. I have on the location services for my apps and iPad and the timezone is correct. I'm not sure how or why it is doing this. I have also brought this to the IT department of my school and they don't have any clue why this is happening.
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,275
    Thanks Received:
    1,989
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,223 / 1
    Interesting. Are there any other iPad users (without 3G) that you can get to try this? That way you could tell whether it is Apple's database or the iPad at fault.
  8. Meanderpaul
    Offline

    Meanderpaul iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I know no one else here that has one only the iPods.
  9. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,275
    Thanks Received:
    1,989
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,223 / 1
    An iPod Touch should work for testing. It will pull location the same way as an iPad without 3G.
  10. ColemanLee09
    Offline

    ColemanLee09 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    This is a known issue. Many users with the same iPad has this same issue. Apple really dropped the ball on this one. I never had this issue with my iPad 1, but I do with my iPad 2. Therefore making the iPad locating app through MobileMe essentially useless. The only we we can get it working is to reset the network settings in settings, general, and reset. Then it will work for about a week then stop working again.
  11. Meanderpaul
    Offline

    Meanderpaul iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's really not what I wanted to hear but thank you for the information I'm not so worried now that i have a defective iPad.
  12. ColemanLee09
    Offline

    ColemanLee09 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    They believe it is a bug that will be fixed in the next iOS update. Just read about it on redmondpie and it's just a bug supposedly.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  13. osad4831
    Offline

    osad4831 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dfdddf
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yes this is a scam! there is no iPhone 4G. it's called the iPhone 4. iPhone 4G means it's running on AT&T's 4G network which has yet to be turned on.
  14. ColemanLee09
    Offline

    ColemanLee09 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
fix location setting on ipad 2
,
gasbuddy ipad app cannot find location
,
get ipad to give correct location
,
how do i reset my current location on my ipad2
,

how to correct current location on ipad map

,
how to correct ipad gps
,
how to correct location services ipad
,
how to fix location on ipad
,
how to fix unable to determine current location in ipad4
,
how to get current location fixed on ipad
,
ipad current location
,

ipad location error

,
ipad maps with can not find current location error
,
ipad not current location
,
ipad not using correct location
,
ipad will not give current locations
,
my ipad location in not correct on the map
,
set current location in ipad maps is not correct
,
setting my current location for ipad
,
why is the current location on my ipad not accurete