1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Listbox question

Discussion in 'iPad Development' started by fweiner, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. fweiner
    Offline

    fweiner iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a web page that has a list box. I notice that on the ipad the list box is treated as a dropdown. The problem is that sometimes my lists are too long to fit in the popup and are truncated with '...' replacing the text that won't fit. Is there any way to enlarge the popup so that the text will be fully readable:confused:
  2. MikesTooLz
    Offline

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,364
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0
    is it because its a single-select list box?
  3. fweiner
    Offline

    fweiner iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    listbox cuts off text

    No, the same behavior occurs for both single and multiple select. The text is cut off after 25 characters and replaced with '...'
  4. amar_bbsr
    Offline

    amar_bbsr iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oslo
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Listbox converts to dropdown

    Did you find the solution for it???? regarding Listbox converts to dropdown in safari ipad.
  5. fweiner
    Offline

    fweiner iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No, I stopped using listboxes. My programs have a known listcount so I created <div>s for each item and displayed the text that way. All my divs belong to the same class and so using jquery, I created a click event for members of that class which returns the text in $(this).val() and allows me to highlight the text by changing the font color $(this).css('color', 'blue'). This works quite nicely

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
aspnet listbox for ipad
,
ipad converts listboxes to dropdowns
,
ipad listbox problem dropdown
,
ipad safari not showing listbox
,
listbox dropdown ipad
,
listbox dropdown ipad safari
,

listbox ipad

,
multiple selection listbox