Keyboard for native iPhone/iPod apps displaying incorrectly on Jailbroken iPad 2 Wifi

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by iPadNewby01, May 29, 2012.

  1. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    I have recently purchased an iPad 2 wifi and am running Jailbroken iOS 5.1.1 thanks to Pod2g. However, after installing an app which displays native iPhone /iPod apps in a higher resolution in 2x mode I have come across a problem with the keyboard I can't solve. The functionality has not gone, I can still type whatever I want. It is the display of the keyboard that is not working. I cant see which letters shoukd be where, this isnt a huge problem as I know where every letter shoukd be but it looks like garbage. I have done everything possible except completely restoring to try and fix the problem. None have worked. If anyone knows if a fix I'd be grateful.

    I'll post an image but as you know I need 3 posts to do so so watch this space.

    Thanks
     
  2. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    And an image

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,061 / 0
    Which app is it that gives that weird keyboard? Or, what's the tweak you installed to make native iPhone apps scale better?

    Marilyn
     
  4. iPadFever1

    iPadFever1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Probably this is one of the bugs the tweak gives.
     
  5. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Marilyn,

    Thanks for your response. It's all native iPhone/iPod apps with a keyboard function except Hippo Remote whose keyboard works in a completely different way.

    Joe
     
  6. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've uninstalled all tweaks/cydia apps, cleared the cache and resprung. That was my thought as well. Am Iwrong in thinking uninstalling all my tweaks and apps would clear the bug?
     
  7. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That includes Whatsapp, Viber, fake Carrier, Amazon, PayPal & Red Laser Classic.

    The tweaks were Full Force initially then followed by retinapad
     
  8. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,061 / 0
    Oh, I wonder if it's RetinaPad?

    I installed RetinaPad on my iPad3 and it mucked it all up! I had to restore to stock iOS 5.1.1 and then re-jailbreak. Not fun!

    I posted a thread about RetinaPad for the iPad3 (here: http://www.ipadforums.net/showthread.php?t=77329). I thought it just affected the iPad3. In fact, a member posted that RetinaPad seemed to be working on their iPad2 with no issues. But - now I wonder if it's iOS 5.1.1 that's the culprit....

    Is there anything else that doesn't work right? With mine, one thing was couldn't get Safari to stay open. I'd launch it, it'd load (but with no icons in the upper bar). Then, when I press a bookmark on the Bookmark bar, bam! Down it'd go! In addition, in the Settings app, all the highlights were black colored and my status bar was a strange color and didn't show a WiFi signal (though I was connected to the Internet). It was definitely all messed up. I uninstalled RetinaPad, restarted, resprung and rebooted (more than once) - nothing. In the end, I was forced to restore.

    All of this to say - you might want to restore the iPad. Yeah, it's going be a pain. But, better that than deal with the keyboard like that. And who knows what else might be happening "under the hood."

    Sorry, but that's what I recommend - and then stay away from RetinaPad! And maybe even FullForce...

    Marilyn
     
  9. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Marylin,

    Thanks for your response.

    I had initially installed retinapad (without Full Force) and had no problems. The keyboard was in full working order. I then read about a tweak that installed Siri so I thought I'd give it a whirl. Unfortunately it didn't agree with my iPad (stuck on boot screen) so had to do a full restore. Once restored I re-jailbroke and found Full Force which claimed full screen for native iPhone apps and then of course I wanted retinapad for the definition. It was after I installed these two tweaks in this order the problem occurred. Had I installed retinapad on its own without Full Force I'm confident the above image wouldn't of happened. Either way, I'll restore re-re-jailbreak, install retinapad without Full Force and report the outcome back here for anyone who may come across the same problem.

    To answer your question: No, there are no other issues except one. On rare occasions hidden apps will show and so will Winterboard (I have the option to hide it selected). I simply click on Fast Respring or iWipe and it hides them once again. Slightly annoying but easily and quickly overcome. None of the issues above you experienced have happened to me.

    Thanks again,

    Joe
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2012
  10. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,061 / 0
    Ah. Thanks for the detailed reply. Good to know it probably isn't like my problem.

    I will be interested to see how it all works for you when you get it all back together (and try RetinaPad again).

    So, yes please - do keep us updated. Thanks.

    Marilyn
     
  11. iPadNewby01

    iPadNewby01 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    So I restored, re-re-jailbroke and installed Retinapad without Full Force and my keyboard is back to normal. If anyone has the same issue I have had it would seem Full Force is the culprit. I'm tempted to install it again just to test but I'm steering clear until I have more time on my hands.

    Thanks for your help Marilyn.

    Joe
     
  12. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,061 / 0
    Glad to hear you got it all sorted. And, thanks for the update. Always good to hear back on success stories.

    Marilyn
     
  13. tonirags

    tonirags iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I just wanted to add that I am having the same problem and I have never installed full force! I do however use retina pad. I would hope that a simple uninstall of retina pad will solve the issue, I really don't want to have to restore and re-jailbreak!
     
  14. Mickey330

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,625
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +2,061 / 0
    Unfortunately, it seems as if that may indeed be your only choice, if you wish to have a "normal" keyboard in an iPhone app. Nothing else any member has tried - short of a full restore - has worked.

    Sorry, but I don't see a way out for you. Of course, if you do find one ( and believe you me, I'd love to be wrong, for your sake), could you please post back and tell us what you did to fix the problem? That way, others in the same situation may be able to learn from your method. Thanks.

    Marilyn
     
  15. tonirags

    tonirags iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I tried uninstalling retina pad and I tried disabling other tweaks hoping that another one may be the cause of the problem. Nothing worked and I ended up restoring and re-jailbreaking! Sacred to reinstall retina pad though...don't want to go through that again!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
fullforce keyboard problem
,
how to increase keyboard size on ipad after installing retinapad
,
ipad 1 retinapad broken iphone app keyboard
,
ipad whatsapp keyboard error
,
iphone app keyboard display problems on ipad
,
iphone application on ipad keyboard issues
,
qr for whatsapp keyboard fix ipad
,

retinapad keyboard

,
small keyboard whatsapp retinapad ipad
,
whatsapp fullforce