Just got my ipad and need some help

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by CheekyIpad, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. CheekyIpad

    CheekyIpad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the wi fi version. Does anyone else with this model have issues with the wi fi dropping? It's connected, then before i do anything it's gone. Sometimes it will be there for 10 mins or so then gone again. (i have a router in the house so is my own connection not a cafe or anything like that)

    Also I downloaded some pics from my facebook album onto my ipad, they put them in all one album and I want them in different albums and to name them.

    Any help would be appreciated, I am using a pc with vista cause I didn't realize that I can't plug in the ipad into my mac with os10.4.11. :(

    Thanks
     
  2. Blueroomelectronics

    Blueroomelectronics iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The iPad has been said to have spotty WiFi, that said I use an Airport Express here and the iPad works like a charm. Make sure your Router has the latest firmware.
     
  3. Robertt

    Robertt iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Common problem. I restored my OS last week and I don't know if it's a coincidence but my wifi hasn't dropped since.
     
  4. CheekyIpad

    CheekyIpad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Do you think that will improve with a OS update?

    What is an Airport Express? How do I update firmware? The router is connected to the Mac.

    Thanks!
     
  5. CheekyIpad

    CheekyIpad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You mean you restored the iPad OS? To factory settings or just network settings?
     
  6. Sonny Burnett

    Sonny Burnett iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    All problems of this nature should be resolved with iOS 4.0. We can only wait and see.
     
  7. CheekyIpad

    CheekyIpad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I hope. Though would like a solution now. Is ios 4 for iPad as well? I updated for my iphone already but says no updates available for iPad.
     
  8. figmo10

    figmo10 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    The iPad OS update is scheduled for 'this fall'.
     
  9. Anthony.L

    Anthony.L iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Federal Way, WA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My wifi works perfectly with my AirPort Extreme Base Station at home. Also works perfect with a very old Linksys WRT54G at my parents house.

    I did have some spotty wifi when visiting a family member at a hospital this week but that's the only time so far. It still worked 90% of the time, and knows to know if that's their wireless AP's or the iPad itself.
     
  10. Itzxdjx

    Itzxdjx iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    R.I.
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The only way you can orginize pictures for the iPad is to do them on your computer and sync thru iTunes.. I know a pain. And the wifi drops usually happen on certain wifi encryption pass codes and should be fixed with os4 in the fall. I never drop connection on an open network and regular WEP password.
     
  11. rogatsby

    rogatsby iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If you have an iPhone, the Photo Transfer app is awesome. Every few days, I transfer photos over WiFi from my iPhone to my iPad. Works like a charm.
     
  12. CheekyIpad

    CheekyIpad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks, ya I figured that out when I brought some pics over from my mac onto the pc laptop and loaded them threw itunes. Is a pain. I dunno why they didn't make it so you could change them around on the ipad the same as you would do for the apps.

    I loose the connection in my house, sitting in the same spot with my own router and password. :confused: So is all I can do it wait or would resetting the ipad help?


    That's cool, yes i do. Though can you decide where what album it goes on the ipad?
     
  13. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    I have an iPod Touch (two of them actually) and an iPad and I did notice that the WiFi signal strength indicator is not as strong on the iPad as either of iPods.
     
  14. CheekyIpad

    CheekyIpad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I did some changes to my router settings that the apple website suggested. It is better, I can go for longer periods of being connected. Still drops though, but comes back faster/easier. Better but not great.

    Sometimes it says in the top left corner I am connected but safari and other net apps say I'm not connected.

    I think I will call Apple tomorrow.
     
  15. tozol

    tozol iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DERBY UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Well this is driving me bloody crazy, i have this exact same thing...

    I'm currently with sky, here in the UK using a netgear router, now i get this very fast, "lost connection" and before you know it its back on, now i know you could say, oh well its only small, but i think it bloody stinks, and is so annoying, for a 430 pound device, that simply its main purposse is to have a 100% connection all the time.


    A few other things to point out, now all the stories you hear ,saying its the device, its Apple, its whatever, well I'm a pc tech as well, and i can tell you right now,in my opinion, its all linked to routers and the way the ipad connects to yours specifically...( by the way it JUST happened, lol).

    Anyway, i come back to the router, you see it is so obvious that is the problem, as it only effects some ipad customers, i will actually say right now, any future update from apple, will not cure the problem if you are one of the unlucky ones.

    Now you have a few choices, none of which i may add, i have done yet, you can try and change recomended settings on your router, and you may, cure it, you could also try a different router, i will be testing this theory soon, as i do have a spare one to try.

    So guys, i would actually suggest finding a working router and trying one.

    I will say however i have seen a post from someone that has the same router as me, and yet has no problems, so that puts my thoery in some doubt you may say, i think not, something else must be not right.

    I will finish with something that also convinces me its router problems...my macbook, does the same thing, no were near as often, but it does lose my wifi connection.

    So guys, i would like some sort of thread made, were we can have folks put there router settings in, something like...router type, security type, and some other stuff.

    I will keep you guys posted, on my change of router.
    It really is annoying to say the least, i just hope i find the problem soon.

    Any extra info guys appreciated.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
dir-615 and ipad
,
dlink 615 connection timeout occurred
,

dlink 615 ipad

,
dlink dir 615 compatible with ipad 2
,
ipad dir-615
,
ipad wireless 802.11 mode
,
ipad wont connect to dlink dir 615
,
will apple i-pad work linksys model wrt120n
,
wrt120n compatable with ipad
,
wrt120n password on ipad