What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Journalists Using iPad

coolnumbr12

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm a journalist that just received a brand new iPad 2 for christmas from my wonderful girlfriend.

I did a search and didn't see a thread already dedicated to people in the profession that make use of this awesome device.
How do you use it? What apps have been the most useful? Which ones would you stay away from?

Currently, I've got all the newspapers and magazines I read downloaded which makes it awesome for keeping up with stuff and not having to carry them all around with me. Can't wait till my subscriptions are up for renewal and I can change to "digital only" to start cutting down on my paper use.
I also love all the tablet only publications like The Atavist and The Daily. I'm taking a class next semester call "Long Form Digital" with an editor from the Atavist, and really excited I now have an iPad.

Anyway, I want to start incorporating this more into my daily usage as a journalist. Ideally, I want to take this thing with me on reporting assignments.
My dream would be to have some sort of notebook that safely holds my iPad on one side and papers on the other that. Anyone know of anything like this? There are so many products out there for protecting your iPad, its a bit overwhelming. What do you guys think are the most effective?
What about bags? I'm thinking of getting one of those Timbuk2 ones that has a sleeve designed to hold a tablet.

When I need to interview someone, I could pull it out, open a notetaking app, and use a stylus to handwrite notes while recording audio.