Jailbreak iPad 4 7.1.1 error?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by krs360, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. krs360
    Offline

    krs360 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello, I've tried to jailbreak my iPad 4 ios 7.1.1 using pangu.

    It gets about 90% of the way through and then the app gives ???. in red and it stops working. Obviously I have no idea of the error message - I've followed the tutorial exactly and tried a number of times.

    I was wondering if anyone has had any success with this on iPad 4 7.1.1?
  2. J. A.
    Offline

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    11,360
    Thanks Received:
    3,113
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +3,746 / 3
    Hi, welcome to iPF!

    I just saw another member posting the same problem, who tried the whole process again and noticed that he had to enter a PIN, which he hadn't done before. He got it working afterwards. Maybe this will help in your case as well.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. willerz2
    Online

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +240 / 0
    If what Johanna says doesn't work, also try disabling the auto lock feature. I've managed to get mine working with both auto lock on and a PIN established, but I kept my screen from going to sleep, which essentially is the same as turning off auto lock. I'll add that to the tutorial.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. krs360
    Offline

    krs360 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for the replies.

    Turned off auto lock (set to never) and also turned off the passcode.

    It does about 60% of it, reboots the iPad and when it boots up it just beings up the normal slide to unlock screen (this is the bit where it normally does preparing the operating system I think) and then it gives me that error after about 2/3 minutes - see the image attached.

    Attached Files:

  5. willerz2
    Online

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +240 / 0
    Backup your device and restore it afresh. I had the same issue when I ran it for my coworker, I messed up at the half way point and it timed out because I didn't realize that there was an app on the springboard (we don't have simplified Chinese language packs or I would have read it), and afterwards, the procedure would always give me errors regardless of whether I did a hard reset or re-ran the utility. A fresh restore fixed it however.
  6. Commodore
    Offline

    Commodore iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    Messages:
    256
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Europe
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I experienced the same issue yesterday when I tried it. It ended up in those question marks (I don't have the Chinese fonts installed). I repeated the procedure, everything seemed pretty much the same, including the ending with the question marks. Except that this time Cydia was installed on the iPad. The PanGu icon was still there until I disconnected the USB cable.
    Maybe just the whole process wasn't finished.
    I also noticed the procedure removed all my 3 profiles/certificates, as well as added a (provisioning) profile "Hefeibofang". (Then again, maybe this bit was supposed to be done / cleaned up in the final stage.)
    In the end I decided to restore the device and wait for a couple of days before I do anything JB-wise again there (I hear 7.1.2 is in the pipeline).

    (P.S.: This thread should probably be merged with the official PanGu thread.)
  7. krs360
    Offline

    krs360 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The restore and new iPad seemed to work so thank you for that suggestion!

    Does the JB not remove the carrier lock or is there something else that I need to do? It's locked to Vodafone at present but my services are with Three.
  8. willerz2
    Online

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +240 / 0
    AFAIK, cellular iPads are all "unlocked". You're not tied to a specific carrier per say, but you are tied to a specific cellular frequency. If your cellular iPad is a world model (often times considered "CDMA" though the term should be used extremely loosely and practically dangling on a microfiber), then your device is pretty much compatible with any and all carriers that utilizes those bands/LTE frequencies and such. The "world" or "CDMA" models have a larger list of of frequency compatibility, and are usually preferred/recommended when buying a cellular iPad so you won't have to worry about frequency incompatibility though 99% of carriers worldwide (including prepaid or pay as you go) are GSM carriers, so a GSM iPad works out if you don't plan on visiting a country/state/province/region where a CDMA network is predominant. But overall, the more recent iPads are world models.

    You can check out which band model your device is (GSM or CDMA) here by comparing the model number if applicable below

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5452

    TL;DR: iPads come unlocked always, just depends on whether the carrier frequency is compatible or not.
  9. krs360
    Offline

    krs360 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's locked to Vodafone, I have confirmed with Apple.

    Apple have advised that I need to speak to VF in order to get it unlocked as it's at their discretion. Any other options?
  10. willerz2
    Online

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +240 / 0
    Assuming the device is actually locked, you'd have to pay a premium towards Vodafone. Slip in another carrier's tablet SIM and it should work after you do the setup.
  11. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    It's not unusual for iPad's to be locked in the UK when bought direct from a carrier such as Vodafone, or via a highstreet phone shop. I have one locked to Orange / EE.

    krs360 - You no doubt got the iPad significantly cheaper than retail in return for the commitment to the carrier contract. The standard policy is never to unlock them until the full term of the contract is up, which in normally 24 months. I know this from experience!
    There are currently no way to sim unlock a modern iPad, regardless of jailbreaking, so you are pretty much stuck. Sorry :(

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
delete hefeibofang
,
hadeibofang
,

hefeibofang

,
hefeibofang app for ios 7
,
hefeibofang iphone profile
,
hefeibofang profil iphone
,
hefeibofang profile
,
hefeibofang profile in iphone
,
hefeibofang profile iphone
,
hefeibofang profile on iphone
,
hefeibofang provisioning
,
how to fix iphone slide to unlock it boots pangu
,
ipad profile hefeibofang
,
iphone hefeibofang profile
,
iphone profiles hefeibofang
,
profile hefeibofang
,
what does hefeibofang on iphone 4
,
what is hefeibofang
,
what is iphone hefeibofang
,
what is profile on iphone settings hefeibogang