iTunes

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Fifi1992, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. Fifi1992

    Fifi1992 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Do you really have to sink the iPad with ituns bEfore you can use the iPad? How long does it take to sink it if this is true
     
  2. jthessin

    jthessin iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Matthews NC
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Yes you will need to SYNC the device to iTunes in order to initialize the iPad.
    Should not take long depending on how much media you want to sync to it.
    If you have no movies, music, apps, photos, then it should take less than 10 minutes.

    All the best:D
     
  3. Fifi1992

    Fifi1992 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thx

    Thx so much
     
  4. Tom P.

    Tom P. iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The first time you sync the iPad with iTunes (after registration) does it go right into sync mode or do you get the chance to pick and choose what to sync? I have an iPod Touch that I regularly sync with iTunes (pictures, music, calendar, email, notes). Will iTunes default to what is set up to sync on my iPod Touch?
     
  5. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    You can pick and choose in the same way you can with Your Touch.

    The Archangel
     
  6. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    i havent used itunes in a long time (i'm an original Touch user), and i know you can manually individually sync (drag and drop) music and video to it. can you also individually pick and choose which apps to sync over as well (cos you couldnt used to originally)?
     
  7. jthessin

    jthessin iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Matthews NC
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    All you have to do IF it does start syncing is press the cancel or "X" in the info window at the top of the iTunes application.
    From there you go to the "Summary" tab and deselct the "Always sync contents when this ipad is connected.
    I think there is another way to do this in the settings section as well.:D
     
  8. Fifi1992

    Fifi1992 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thx

    Great info thx again
     
  9. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,291
    Thanks Received:
    2,474
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +3,033 / 1
    Also, if you want to prevent auto-syncing; open iTunes' preferences, the Devices tab, and check the box that says "Prevent iPods. . . from syncing automatically"

    From that point on you'll only sync when you click on the sync button, or choose it from a menu.
     
  10. Lifet1me

    Lifet1me iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I also try to avoid ITunes as much as possible, since that Program often do things u dont want to ist always a risk that some Apps just dissapear for a reason u just dont see in the moment.

    Just keep auto-sync off and nothing will happen when u connect to itunes without doing anything.

    ITunes can be a pain, but still u should do a backup of your device from time to time (right click device name and "save") to not lose anything while doing a step in ITunes where u dont know what will happen.

    I really would never sync, but there iOS-Updates which you need to get, and theres the major problem of all.
     
  11. accordlayingkit

    accordlayingkit iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    If I plug my ipad1 up and transfer all my purchased apps...it then syncs the whole ipad right? When its done do I jus plug up ipad2 and restore to the sync I just did on ipad 1 to transfer everything over to ipad2?
     
  12. accordlayingkit

    accordlayingkit iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    So is "save" like a Manuel sync? Where do u cut off auto sync?
     
Similar Threads
  1. doc.zed
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    900
  2. pyewacket
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    507
  3. rhardin
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    664
  4. knoflynn
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    629
  5. Greg Martin
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    756
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

do i need itunes to update my ipad2

,

does ipad2 have itunes

,

itunes download for ipad

,

usage on ipad 2 takes long time to show