Is Wifi required for initializing a new iPad4?

Discussion in 'iPad 4 Forum' started by seymoria, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. seymoria

    seymoria
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Dear all.

    A friend has purchased a new iPad4.

    After installing iTunes on his desktop PC, he connected the iPad to it for its initialisation.

    However, the iPad says it needs Wifi connection and refuses to initialise.

    Can you shed some light on this problem?

    Thanks.
     
  2. skimonkey

    skimonkey
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,934
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Yes, you need to have an Internet connection to complete the process.

    Does he have wifi in his house? Has he turned on the wifi settings to detect the home network?
     
  3. seymoria

    seymoria
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The PC has a lan internet connection. Do we need a Wifi connection also? Currently he does not have Wifi.
     
  4. MoonlitSonata

    MoonlitSonata
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,379
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Yes you need wi-fi. Especially if its not 3G/4G. The use of the ipad is severely limited without either way to connect.
     
    #4 MoonlitSonata, Jun 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2013
  5. skimonkey

    skimonkey
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,934
    Thanks Received:
    1,393
    Yes--you need to have a wifi connection to complete the start-up of your device. If your friend does not have wifi-may want to suggest going to a friend/family who does so you can finish this process! It will take only a few minutes!

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page