What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is this the "norm" with an iPad stylus?

Videographer

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I bought a stylus for my iPad 2 at Best Buy this weekend. It's their brand called "Rocketfish". They had another one by Targas (I think it's called), but it was a few dollars more. The BB sales rep said that they are both basically the same. I've never used one before, so I took his word for it. I'm having second thoughts as to perhaps there are indeed differences in these little devices. The tip on mine is a soft rubbery substance, but what I find peculiar is that it's not solid like I thought it would be. You can push the end of the tip right in. Is this normal for the tips on these stylus pens or just the brand that I'm using? It seems to work ok, but then I don't have anything else to compare it with. Like I mentioned, it's ok, but not terribly responsive. You have to use more force than I would with just my finger tip. Could I ask your advice please?

Thank you

Cywa

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I guess you have to decide what u r going to use the stylus primarily for.

I've bought several styli from cheapo $2 no-brand ones to over $20 branded ones in my search for the best one for writing/note-taking. I even made one myself. All except one has a broad rubber tip which is easily squashed if I press too hard. The one exception has a flat spatula-looking tip made of hard plastic (imagine a smaller version of a dentist's mirror). All of them work perfect for tapping, swiping etc. But not for precise note-taking as the tips are so broad. In fact the harder rubber tips are worse off as they do not glide as smoothly over the screen.