Is there a way to go from JB 3.2 to JB 3.2.1?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by pego99, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. pego99

    pego99
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I would consider this for the improved wi-fi but I have 6 pages of apps most appsync's some bought. Would be very difficult to have to do this all over. Is there to go to 3.2.1 jailbroken and leave all mt apps intact?
     
  2. gentlefury

    gentlefury
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    The wifi "fix" is total BS the wifi works just fine....3.2.1 and 3.2.2 are just jailbreak disablers.
     
  3. pego99

    pego99
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks. Pretty sneaky of apple but I suspected this.
     
  4. MikesTooLz

    MikesTooLz
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    dont see why you would say this when its been proven time and time again that 3.2.1 really does correct the wifi issues.


    And apple isnt saying any BS about 3.2.2 they say themself that it is a patch to fix the PDF security whole. This is a huge security risk not just a JB block.
     
  5. pego99

    pego99
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So is there a way to go from JB 3.2 to JB 3.21 without losing everything or a way to back up my 3.2 so I can go back to it if 3.2.1 gets screwed up?
     
  6. ttgolf

    ttgolf
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Please help

    I have the same issue. I got a replacement iPad from Apple Store. They told me it is still at 3.2 firmware version. I just JB version 3.2 but would love to get to 3.2.1 to fix the wifi issue. Is there a way to upgrade my firmware to 3.2.1 now? Obviously I don't have the SHSH for 3.2.1. Any help is really appreciated in getting my 3.2 JB iPad to 3.2.1 JB iPad.
     
  7. peebee01

    peebee01
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is what I've tried:
    I'm on a jailbroken Ipad 3.2
    I've got SHSHs on file at Cydia for 3.2, 3.2.1 and 3.2.2
    I've downloaded the 3.2.1 firmware: iPad1,1_3.2.1_7B405_Restore.ipsw
    In itunes 9.1.1.1 I go to the connected iPAD and do a "shift-click" on Update.
    Than it allows me to select the downloaded 3.2.1 firmware
    I've modified my hosts file by adding: 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com in order to use the SHSH from Cydia instead of validating the firmware directly with apple.

    However on this last step things go wrong apparently as I get an error message that the update cant be validated by Apple.

    Looking at the file name of the firmware there is a hint this file can only be used to restore the IPAD, and I've restored following the process above succesfully in the past, so I'm pretty sure that will work it's just I would prefer to update instead of restore.

    The thing I'm not so sure about is how different a restore from an update actually is, given that I've updated the ipad and have al ipas on file.
    Maybe I'll just restore to 3.2.1 and see where this gets me unless someone can provide some insight into doing the update.
     
  8. Digikid

    Digikid
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry but this is just plain wrong. 3.2.1 does fix Wifi Issues.....and EVERY firmware breaks a jailbreak which is why you are supposed to wait for a jailbreak for that firmware.
     
  9. Dr.Gee

    Dr.Gee
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    408
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Did previous jb versions use this PDF hole?
     
  10. ralliart_rob

    ralliart_rob
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi peebee01,
    I just managed to do the exact same update as you're trying and managed to get it to work.
    I think the issue may be that you need to update to the latest version of iTunes.
    I mistakedly added the new line in the host file and kept getting an error 3104 message. Once i amended the already existing 127.0.0.1 to the cydia location it worked.
    I only updated from 3.2 to 3.2.1 for the video freezing fix as my wifi was already ok using a 5ghz signal.
    Cheers
    Rob
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page

error 3104 ipad 3