Is there a way to get mobile hotspot?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Fataliya, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. Fataliya
    Offline

    Fataliya iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    If they dont have any 3g? My phone is Verizon, but I want AT&T. Do they sell some sort of mobile hotspot thing that I can hook up to the iPad2?
  2. Demandarin
    Offline

    Demandarin iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    The phone should be able to hotspot or wirelessly tether. Depends on the phone. Once u decide what phone u want, let us know and will be able to give more details on it. That's what a lot of people do now, forgetting the 3G version of iPad and getting the wifi only version then tethering it to their phones. Saves u a ton of cash in the short and long term. I tether my win mo phone to my iPad and wrks flawlessly. When I'm at home, I use my com cast high speed wireless network.
  3. Fataliya
    Offline

    Fataliya iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have the Droid 2 with Verizon. I dont want to get a new phone, just curious if AT&T sells something similar to Verizons MiFi that I can use for the iPad 2?

    Thanks so much!
  4. Wolfpuppies3
    Offline

    Wolfpuppies3 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +10 / 1
  5. jhood2323
    Offline

    jhood2323 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Did u get your ipad2 yet
  6. kctay
    Offline

    kctay iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Wolfpuppies must have one of those new fangled "easy" buttons.....gotta get one of those...:D
  7. geoffthedad
    Offline

    geoffthedad iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You should be able to tether you D2 with the ipad2 via VZW's tethering. Look for an app called 3g Mobile Hotspot in the market place.

    I haven't used it on the D2 but it is a program via VZW. I did use it on my Droid X with my iPad. I did pay VZW's tether option on my plan though, so it's not free but works great!

    Good Luck
  8. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,393
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Geoffthedad,
    Do you buy 30 day buckets like ATT 3G iPad plans?
    I'm going to be using my Inc for a hotspot but if if ends at 30 or so I'm going to wait until I need it vs trying it out now. My wife has one with the ATT 3G so I'm familiar with how theirs works, just wondering if mobile hotspot with Verizon works the same.
    Thank you


    Support Our Troops!!
    This post was Tapatalk approved
    Sent from my iPad
  9. geoffthedad
    Offline

    geoffthedad iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Mark, I have turned the wifi hotspot on and off through VZW customer service line for short periods of time. IE: 3 day trip, call and get it active. When I get home, I call and cancel it. Then I get billed a prorated amount for the month. It is truly a month to month deal. No contract with it.

    Enjoy tethering legitimately!
  10. Demandarin
    Offline

    Demandarin iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    exactly what I was trying to say. Why waste the extra $$$ for nuthin when ur droid 2 can do that exact same function..just sayin..lol
  11. Gmenfan83
    Offline

    Gmenfan83 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fla
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You could always root your droid 2 which is a simple process and use wifi tether or the 3G hotspot hack ,,,,it's what I do with my x
  12. Dvmpiper
    Offline

    Dvmpiper iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Terrell, Tx
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Any ideas for doing this with a BB torch? I have 4.3 iOS on my wifi iPad. I was hoping the upgrade would allow it to connect to any phone that has a data plan. I use ATT.
  13. Gmenfan83
    Offline

    Gmenfan83 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fla
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Go to crackberry.com and search the forums for the torch,,,,I believe it is able to run hotspot like a droid but if possible and you wanted it free you would have to hack your torch
  14. k7lvo
    Offline

    k7lvo iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Just a reminder: The iPads without 3G don't have a GPS, either. That made the decision for me. It's quite likely that I'll tether to my iPhone and not activate the 3G on my iPad, but I want the GPS.

    BTW, I have to chuckle. The forum's spell checker recognizes "iPhone" but not "iPad."
  15. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,393
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thank you. My screen broke on my wifi one (see thread called screen spider web I started) so I took it back to Target but they were out of wifi only so I got a 3G ATT version. I know Verizon coverage is great around Luray/Front Royal Va areas and ATT is better at my house ( Verizon 3G sucks badddd at my house and surrounding area) so if when I'm in the Luray area if ATT sucks I'll just hotspot and save the $15-25 for ATT data plan.
    Thank you very much


    Support Our Troops!
    This post was Tapatalk approved
    Sent from my iPad

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can you hook up a ps2 with a mobile hotspot

,

how to hook up hot spot from mobile phone

,

ipad 2 mobile hot spot

,

is there a way to get hotspots on my ipad mini

,

is there hot spot function on ipad