Is it possible? - pllllease help?

Discussion in 'iTunes Forum' started by Arthur11111, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. Arthur11111

    Arthur11111
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is it possible that an iphone will redownload an app that was deleted from the phone when it syncs. The app is in iTunes but was deleted from the phone. The "Automatically install new apps" check box is ticked. Next to the app in question is "install" not "will install" so I assumed the "Automatically install new apps" check box would not redownloaded to my iphone when it syncs?

    Please help...
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,408
    Thanks Received:
    10,679
    Yes, it is possible, although it shouldn't be. There are several user who experience the same.

    Look at this thread: http://www.ipadforums.net/threads/itunes-what-is-automatically-install-new-apps.120198/
    That feature is discussed there as well.

    If you don't want apps you deleted on your iPhone synced back again, uncheck "Automatically install new apps".
    Also disable "Apps" in Settings - iTunes & App Stores - Automatic Download. (I hope it's the same on an iPhone.)

    Btw:
    Welcome to iPF!
     
    #2 J. A., Aug 20, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  3. Arthur11111

    Arthur11111
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey, thanks so much for this info. I wanted to know if this was still possible though even when the settings are set to "install" not "will install" on the button next to the app.

    The reason being is that I deleted the app again and then synced but it did not download back to the phone again? So the question is can it re-download but then with no change to the settings not download again once I sync the phone the next time?

    Your help is making a bi difference I really appreciate it.

    Best :)
     
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,683
    Thanks Received:
    6,577
    You can, of course, set iTunes to reinstall the app on your next sync. That is what 'should' happen when the button next to the app says "Will Install".

    However, it's an overly complicated way to get just one app back.

    • Open the App Store on your iPhone.
    • Tap the Updates tab at the bottom.
    • Tap the Purchased item at the top of the list.
    • Tap "Not on This iPhone"
    • Scroll until you find the app you want
    • then tap on the cloud symbol next to it.

    The app will download. You may have to look around a bit. The default Home screen for new downloads appears to be the first Home screen that has more than one or two free spaces available. It almost never fills the last open space on a Home Screen.

    Good luck.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  5. Arthur11111

    Arthur11111
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for this but one question if the button is set to "install" will it install on a sync or only ever when it is set to "will install"? I need to make sense of something...

    Appreciate the help very much here :)

    cheers Nick
     
  6. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,408
    Thanks Received:
    10,679
    It's meant to install with "Will Install" when syncing. "Install" shouldn't do anything.
     
    #6 J. A., Aug 21, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
  7. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,683
    Thanks Received:
    6,577
    Yes, it is a bit confusing. If the buttons say something simple like Install, or Remove, then they are action buttons. Clicking them changes them to something like Will Install, or Will Remove, becoming more like notification buttons; telling you what will happen on the next sync.

    There is no obvious way of telling what they mean other than experimentation, experience or asking. I consider it a minor UI design error on Apple's part.

    You can always click on the button and see how it changes, then change it back if that is not what you intended.
     
  8. Richardson coy

    Richardson coy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes it is possible. Sync process will automatically grab it.
     

Share This Page