IPad2 is my first Apple product!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by Greenlakeesty, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. Greenlakeesty

    Greenlakeesty iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am just getting acquainted with this device and love it but have problems (alas, it's still a computer)!

    My problem is upgrading to the newest operating system using iTunes on my pc. I get the same response every time I do this (6). Do I need to be Using an Apple computer?
     
  2. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Welcome, from Cali!

    You don't need an Apple computer. What response are you getting?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Hi there and welcome.

    We could do with some information to be able to help you. The version of windows that you are on? Your version of iOS on your iPad (Settings>About)? Have you got the latest version of iTunes? All this will help us to help you.

    There is lots of good advice and info on here plus plenty of members all too willing to help with any problems.

    Remember, search is your friend.......and please don't forget to read the rules http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rules-help-info/2119-forum-rules-everybody-please-read.html

    These are the hacking section rules for all you jail breakers (and would be jail breakers) http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-hacking/2892-hacking-section-rules-please-read.html

    We also have an app for this forum. The link to download the app is: Discussion Forum for iPad Users for iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad on the iTunes App Store

    If you have other Apple products or are interested in other Apple kit then why not join our sister forum too at http://www.appleforums.net/

    Finally, if you still haven't had enough, how about a video explaining about our other forums (note:you may want to play this at half speed but hey, why shouldn't Phil be excited about our forums!)

    The Archangel
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014
  4. GoPackGo

    GoPackGo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Hi there,
    A lot of people had problems upgrading to iOS 5. A lot of us got iTunes errors. You don't need a Mac computer, but those definitely work better with iTunes. I have an old Toshiba laptop and I got it to work.

    Without knowing what your actual problem is, all I can say is to not give up. It took me several attempts to get it to work.
     
  5. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Good to hear from you. You’ll find a whole bunch of iPad enthusiasts in this Forum who are only too willing to help other iPad owners and to hear of their experiences. Don’t be afraid to post any questions you may have or use the ‘Search’ button near the top of the Forum web page. I usually find I discover one new interesting and useful piece of information about my iPad every day - and often not even what I was looking for!!

    Hope to hear from you soon with your thoughts about the iPad.

    Have fun and enjoy your iPad


    If you don’t already have it you can download a copy of the iPad manual for free.

    Apple - Support - Manuals

    Please read the rules too!!

    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rules-help-info/2119-forum-rules-everybody-please-read.html

    Tim
    Scotland
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Greenlakeesty

    Greenlakeesty iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    after the application has completed, usually 17 minutes later, the next task is downloading and this is when it breaks down. the error message goes like this: There was a problem dpi loading the software for the iPad. the network connection timed out..
    I am on a cable connection and listen to Pandora for hours with no network interruptions so I doubt this is a network problem.?
     
  8. GoPackGo

    GoPackGo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    That's what happened to me too though. Network timeouts. I think it has to do with the Apple server, not our individual WiFi connections. Unfortunately you have to keep trying. Eventually it will work. Restart your computer or iTunes or both, and just keep trying. Sorry you're having trouble. :(
     
  9. Greenlakeesty

    Greenlakeesty iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks, that's good to know . Did you get the same error message every time it failed to load? The error message I get
    Includes "The network connection timed out".
     
  10. GoPackGo

    GoPackGo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    960
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Yes, I'm fairly certain I always got the same one. When I did my mom's iPhone 4 though, I got a different network timeout message that wiped her data. Despite my iPad having errors a few times before it worked, my iPad didn't get wiped.

    Sent from my iPad 2 using iPF
     
  11. Greenlakeesty

    Greenlakeesty iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, same error so I checked my network settings and ran a diagnostic on my connection. No problem but There has to be something I haven't
    Considered because, it has errored out to more times today?
     

Share This Page