IPad2 as a satnav

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Paul80, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. Paul80

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I guys

    Anyone tried using their iPad2 as a satnav, did it work.

    I have loaded the Sygic satnav app and I cannot get any GPS signal in the car, although I get nearly full signal in doors, but in the car, nothing. Good job I have other satnav options.

    Anyone else tried it.

    Paul
     
  2. leelai

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,838
    Thanks Received:
    1,299
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,378 / 0
    Hi and Welcome to the Forum!

    Do you have a 3G iPad?

    The IPad Forum is a Community of members from all walks of life and from all over the world coming together to share our experiences and to help each other learn about this wonderful piece of technology the IPad.
    There is a wealth of information already here in the many threads we have so doing some searches will answer most of the questions that you have. If then you can't find the answer you are seeking, then by all means post your question. You will find many friendly and informed members here only too willing to help you.

    We also have our own App - Discussion Forum for IPad Users It is a very simple app to navigate.
    Reading the iPad Manuals is a great place to start, so please download a copy of these http://www.support.apple.com/manuals/ipad/
    A very informative thread from which you will learn many tips and shortcuts for the iPad
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/21590-tips-tricks-those-us-who-dont-know.html
    We have rules like any Community so please read these also
    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rul...um-rules-everybody-please-read.html#post14697

    Once again we welcome you here and are so pleased you have joined us. Enjoy!!

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  3. Paul80

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi

    No its just a WiFi version

    Paul
     
  4. leelai

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,838
    Thanks Received:
    1,299
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,378 / 0
    To get the full sat nav capability you need to have a 3G iPad. Although some have had success tethering their iPads to their iPhones with regards to wifi connectivity. I don't recall exactly but it will depend on where you are in how successful it will be in regards to how many wifi towers there are in the area. There are some threads on here about this topic. I have a 3G iPad but have not got a charged sim at present but I have the Navfree app which allows me to input my destination at home, I bring up the route and then when I leave home I can still follow the route without a connection. It will even show me where I am on the map. I don't quite know how this works without a connection but it does. I actually used it today, very good indeed. I hope this helps you, good luck!

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Yes - as leelai says, the WiFi iPad doesn't have GPS and so will only work near a WiFi hotspot whose location is in Apple's database.

    Tim
     
  6. Paul80

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks guys


    Paul
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011
  7. Paul80

    Paul80 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kent UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Glad I found this out before I splashed at on some expensive satnav software like tomtom. You would think they would list it as incomparable with the wi-fi version wouldn't you.

    Paul
     
  8. leelai

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,838
    Thanks Received:
    1,299
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,378 / 0
    Yes you're right, they just expect us to know these things. If you had bought the tomtom you would have been able to get a refund though, but still an annoyance you don't need. Enjoy!!

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
     
  9. K1W1

    K1W1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I have a 3G and use Navfree here in Australia and when I was in California recently. It worked perfectly in CA in the rental car.
     
  10. 1Dionysos

    1Dionysos iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As I live in a tiny island called Cyprus, where nobody has a postcode - or, in the States, zip code, although a few people have a sat nav, what's the point - it doesn't take you to your friend or companies address! All it gives is the main streets to a larger town like, say, Nicosea.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

best sat nav app for ipad 2

,
can i use my ipad 2 as a satnav
,
can i use my ipad2 as a satnav
,
can you run sat nav on a wifi ipad
,
how to use ipad air as a sat nav
,
ipad sat nav
,
ipad sat nav no 3g
,
navipad 2 download
,

sat nav for ipad 2

,
sat nav ipad australia