Ipad Wifi Bridge conection

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by torombolo, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. torombolo

    torombolo
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, I have a new Ipad 16Gb, Wifi, I have no problem Tethering with my wifes Iphone and Mywi, but is there a way I can use my LapTop as a bridge with my wireless card? I don't allways have Wifi signal available.

    Thanks
     
  2. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    If you're asking can you use your laptop connection for the ipad, yes you can. If you have windows 7 look into a free program (for laptop not iPad) called connectify. If older windows versions set up an adhoc connection. Connectify turns your laptop into a hotspot. If you have a Mac someone else has to answer. ;)
     
  3. torombolo

    torombolo
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Brenn thanks for your elp, one thing tough my laptop is running win vista and I'm technologicaly no good, could you elavorate a little more? how or what is an adhoc connection?


    thanks
     
  4. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Try connectify program it might work with vista.Its very simple to use, easier than trying to configure ad hoc
     
  5. Tinman

    Tinman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Connectify is Windows 7 only. On Vista you have to do Internet Connection Sharing and the lovely ad hoc connection that wants to delete itself "once last connection disconnects."

    But I have done that on Vista when at hotels or places that only offered Wired Ethernet Internet access. It does work. Connectify on Win 7 is sooooo much better though.



    Michael
     
  6. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Michael since I only have win7 can you explain to the OP how to set up IS?
     
  7. torombolo

    torombolo
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you, I tried it a few minutes ago, did set up the ad hoc, password enable did find it with the iPad but could not log in. Any ideas???
     
    #7 torombolo, Oct 30, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  8. torombolo

    torombolo
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, still not working any ideas on what im I doing wrong?

    Thanks
     
  9. Tinman

    Tinman
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Try it first without password. Get it to work first... then try simple WEP for securing it.



    Michael
     
  10. torombolo

    torombolo
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    HELP :( this is what I did:
    Created the hoc connection open (no authentication) found it with the Ipad and connected. The ipad shows the signal bars on top but safary and everything shouws not connected to internet. what Im I doing wrong now?

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
bridge ipad and iphone
,
can you bridge wifi internet ipad
,
connect ipad hotspot to wireless bridge
,

how to bridge iphone with ipad

,
ipad bridge conection
,
ipad network bridge
,
ipad wifi bridge
,
iphone bridge to ipad wifi
,
iphone wireless bridge to ipad
,
okbridge foripad2