1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Ipad Wifi Bridge conection

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by torombolo, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. torombolo
    Offline

    torombolo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello, I have a new Ipad 16Gb, Wifi, I have no problem Tethering with my wifes Iphone and Mywi, but is there a way I can use my LapTop as a bridge with my wireless card? I don't allways have Wifi signal available.

    Thanks
  2. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    If you're asking can you use your laptop connection for the ipad, yes you can. If you have windows 7 look into a free program (for laptop not iPad) called connectify. If older windows versions set up an adhoc connection. Connectify turns your laptop into a hotspot. If you have a Mac someone else has to answer. ;)
  3. torombolo
    Offline

    torombolo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Brenn thanks for your elp, one thing tough my laptop is running win vista and I'm technologicaly no good, could you elavorate a little more? how or what is an adhoc connection?


    thanks
  4. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Try connectify program it might work with vista.Its very simple to use, easier than trying to configure ad hoc
  5. Tinman
    Offline

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Connectify is Windows 7 only. On Vista you have to do Internet Connection Sharing and the lovely ad hoc connection that wants to delete itself "once last connection disconnects."

    But I have done that on Vista when at hotels or places that only offered Wired Ethernet Internet access. It does work. Connectify on Win 7 is sooooo much better though.



    Michael
  6. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Michael since I only have win7 can you explain to the OP how to set up IS?
  7. torombolo
    Offline

    torombolo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you, I tried it a few minutes ago, did set up the ad hoc, password enable did find it with the iPad but could not log in. Any ideas???
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  8. torombolo
    Offline

    torombolo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, still not working any ideas on what im I doing wrong?

    Thanks
  9. Tinman
    Offline

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Try it first without password. Get it to work first... then try simple WEP for securing it.



    Michael
  10. torombolo
    Offline

    torombolo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    HELP :( this is what I did:
    Created the hoc connection open (no authentication) found it with the Ipad and connected. The ipad shows the signal bars on top but safary and everything shouws not connected to internet. what Im I doing wrong now?

    Thanks again
  11. ArcticRed
    Offline

    ArcticRed iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Further to this, I'm a new member/ipad user and have loaded connectify and the ipad and PC shows connected. How can I use it?
    I cannot get internet connection from the ipadeither

    AR
  12. ArthurIhde
    Offline

    ArthurIhde iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've no idea then
  13. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Well your pc needs to have an Internet connection itself, then connectify shares that connection as a wifi hotspot. So you set up connectify with a name and password, then on iPad go to settings and wifi and log onto the hotspot you created.

    If your pc isnt already connected to Internet and/or doesn't have it's own wifi (done or built in) it won't have anything to share.
  14. Tinman
    Offline

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I need more information to help. For starters, what exactly was "wireless card" in the first post? If you meant 3G wireless card then you must share THAT connection with the laptop's built-in WiFi.

    I'm also not sure what you did to create the ad hoc network. You need to explicitly share one connection to the other.



    Michael
  15. ArcticRed
    Offline

    ArcticRed iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No internet connection with iPad

    Good morning (well it is here).
    Thanks for the further comments.

    In my case I have a connection between iPad + PC. I can connect using connectify and local stuff. In both cases there is no internet connection on the ipad. If you click on the PC to show connections it shows both "mobile broadband" internet connection and the wireless link (to ipad) but also states "no internet access" on the wireless connection

    Thanks AR
  16. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Arctic, if you do not have Internet access on your pc to begin with, connectify will not giv eyiu access. It is simply an app to share your pc's Internet not create Internet itself.
  17. ArcticRed
    Offline

    ArcticRed iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Response to BrennB

    Hi BrennB,

    Thanks for the response. Aftre what seems hours of straining the grey matter, I have (using PC wireless) established an internet connection via the PC for the iPad.
    A further question:
    With USB connection, should iPad show on the PC as a connected device? Itunes recognises it and I can synch correctly.

    Thanks,
    Arctic
  18. Tinman
    Offline

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    It shows on the PC as a connected device so that "camera roll" images can be transferred to the PC. Even though the iPad has no camera it uses the same design as the iPhone--when you save a modified photo, with say PhotoShop Express, it saves it to camera roll. Same for things like screen shots.

    Good job on getting the sharing to work.



    Michael
  19. ArcticRed
    Offline

    ArcticRed iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Norway
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Michael,

    I have checked for latest apple connect updates but it does not show as connected. Any further thoghts?

    Regards,
    Arctic
  20. Tinman
    Offline

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    OK I'm not sure what you mean by connected.... Do you mean in iTunes or in windows itself (where the iPad would show up in Computer/My Computer)? In either case it should show up and if not just reinstall the latest version of iTunes.


    Michael

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
bridge ipad and iphone
,
bridge wifi to ipad
,
bridging iphone to ipad
,
can a ipad be bridged to an iphone
,

can you bridge wifi internet ipad

,
connect ipad bridge
,
connect ipad hotspot to wireless bridge
,

how to bridge iphone with ipad

,
how to connect ipad to wifi in birdge mode
,
howmto bridge ipad wifi
,
ipad bridge conection
,
ipad for using for wifi bridge
,

ipad wifi bridge

,
iphone bridge to ipad wifi
,
iphone wireless bridge to ipad
,
okbridge foripad2
,
set up bridge connection for ipad
,
using apple iphone as a bridge for ipad
,
wireless bridge ipad
,
wireless router bridge mode ipad no internet