iPad viewing and eyestrain ?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by NateBW, Aug 22, 2010.

1. NateBW

NateBW
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    Hi,

I am an eye doctor that blogs about computer vision syndrome (CVS) and ways to keep your eyes happy any healthy during digital usage. I've been asked to write a blog post on tips to reduce eyestrain when using the iPad. Of course, all the usual computer/devise suggestions apply. But since I don't actually HAVE an iPad (I'm the blacksheep in a family of Mac addicts), I'd like to do a little crowdsourcing to learn from serious users. What has been your experience with the iPad in terms of eyestrain relative to other devices such as a Kindle or smartphone?
    • Do you find that bright sunlight presents a problem? I live in Florida and bright sunlight is often a problem.
    • Do you take specific steps to reduce/prevent eyestrain?
    • Do you usually use the iPad seated with it in your lap, on a desk/table, laying down, walking/standing, or some other posture?
    Thanks in advance, for all your comments and suggestions!

Happy iPadding. :D

-Nate

#1 NateBW, Aug 22, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  2. iPadCharlie

iPadCharlie
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

Thanks Received:
    First of all, welcome to the forum!

Second of all, get an iPad! C'mon, you're a doc. You got money.

But more to the point, I will start off by saying that I am 53, farsighted and wear "cheaters" (2.5's from Wal-Mart. I keep a pair in every room in the house.) I am also a Gemini and like long walks on the beach.... but that's another story!