What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iPad viewing and eyestrain ?

NateBW

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Website
brighteyesnews.com
Hi,

I am an eye doctor that blogs about computer vision syndrome (CVS) and ways to keep your eyes happy any healthy during digital usage. I've been asked to write a blog post on tips to reduce eyestrain when using the iPad. Of course, all the usual computer/devise suggestions apply. But since I don't actually HAVE an iPad (I'm the blacksheep in a family of Mac addicts), I'd like to do a little crowdsourcing to learn from serious users. What has been your experience with the iPad in terms of eyestrain relative to other devices such as a Kindle or smartphone?
  • Do you find that bright sunlight presents a problem? I live in Florida and bright sunlight is often a problem.
  • Do you take specific steps to reduce/prevent eyestrain?
  • Do you usually use the iPad seated with it in your lap, on a desk/table, laying down, walking/standing, or some other posture?
Thanks in advance, for all your comments and suggestions!

Happy iPadding. :D

-Nate

Last edited:

iPadCharlie

iPF Noob
Reaction score
First of all, welcome to the forum!

Second of all, get an iPad! C'mon, you're a doc. You got money.

But more to the point, I will start off by saying that I am 53, farsighted and wear "cheaters" (2.5's from Wal-Mart. I keep a pair in every room in the house.) I am also a Gemini and like long walks on the beach.... but that's another story!