ipad syncing

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by bskinner, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. bskinner

    bskinner
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I was only able to sync photos to my ipad one time. Each time I have tried since then I get the attached screen shot of the display on my computer suggesting if I continue with the apply buttom the apps will all be erased. Also, I can only get the apply/revert buttons, not the sync buttons after I select the specific folder to sync and it does not indicate selected folder. This is true even when I turn automatic syncing off to allow automatic sync.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Doc1.pdf
      File size:
      107.6 KB
      Views:
      189
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,753
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    This is warning about removal of apps. Go back into the Apps screen and make sure all the apps you don't want to erase from the iPad have checkmarks next to them.

    Or try choosing "Revert" at the bottom of that screen (if available), and try to sync your photos again to see if the warning is gone.
     
  3. bskinner

    bskinner
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    more on syncing problem

    I tried these suggestions and still get the exact same result as shown on the screen shot. Also, this is an ipad 1, not a 2, if that makes a difference.
     
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,753
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    OK, another thing to try then:

    Is iTunes authorized for the account? Go to the Store menu and choose authorized computer. Enter the account ID that the apps were bought with.
     
  5. Axis360

    Axis360
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Think your using a different account. If you have two accounts then apps you bought on one can not be used on a different account. Hope that helps.
     
  6. graywolf

    graywolf
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Click apply then sync. That's normal.
     
  7. bskinner

    bskinner
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've got this working now. The original suggestion of checking all apps in itunes did work after I did it right. Thanks.
     
  8. thediusx

    thediusx
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I have a slightly related question:
    I just recently synced photos fro the first time and in the process itunes basically pulled EVERYTHING off my ipad.
    I saw no warning that this was going to occur, just pressed "sync" after selecting the photos (didn't check ANYTHING else BTW), thought it was just gonna pull off/put on some photos, next thing I know I'm in the middle of an hour long sync.
    I that had to sync again to put it all back on.
    Played a stupid app game and noticed my save file was gone.. oh well, hadn't played that long and it's just a silly game, no big deal.
    Go to work on some editing in pages... ALL my files are gone...
    Illustrations I've been working on... gone.
    Everthing related to all my apps, besides the apps themselves, gone.
    MONTHS of work...
    Anyhow, anybody heard of this before, perhaps know some magic technique to get all my documants back?
    (I'm pretty pessimistically sure as to the answer...)

    Thanks for any/all help!
     
  9. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    19,753
    Thanks Received:
    4,750
    When you remove an app from the iPad, all it's documents and associated files (like game saves) are deleted with it.

    Since you did a second sync when you restored the apps and such, you'll have overwritten the backup that had app info saved. I'm afraid there isn't any way to get it back after that.

    Unless you have some kind of automatic backup on your computer that backed files up between the two syncs, or an even older one that has most of your data. If that is true, it might be possible to retrieve the in-between backup and use it to restore some or all of your app data.

    You would lose changes you made in the meantime, so you'd want to be careful to save important stuff off the iPad before the attempt.
     
  10. thediusx

    thediusx
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, twerppoet, figured as much.

    So, for future referance, how do I avoid this happening again?
    I never intended to pull the apps off my ipad, it just kind of... happened.
    As long as that DOESN'T happen again, I assume I'm safe to sync?
    Is there something I can be certain to make sure is/isn't checked, etc. before syncing?
    And IF, by some chance, it does pull them all off again, what can I do to keep those back-ups you mentioned in tact before restoring the apps to the pad? (and if I notice this happening, can I just cancel the sync ASAP and keep what hasn't yet been affected in tact.)


    Thanks again.
     
Similar Threads
  1. SweetPoison
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    4,791
  2. Mike_73
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    5,734
  3. Castman63
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,168
  4. Ebony
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,023
  5. Beckio
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,167
Loading...

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
ipad revert or apply
,
ipad what does revert vs apply
,

itunes revert or apply

,
revert on ipad
,
revert photos on itunes
,
revert sync photos ipad
,
syncing ipad revert
,
what are the revert and apply in itunes
,
what is revert and apply in itunes
,

what is the difference between revert and apply in itunes