Ipad Producing Errors, Unable to get on Forum

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Spikie, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. Spikie

    Spikie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi all, I hope someone can assist with my problem.

    I play World of Warcraft and use the ipad to surf the WOW website (europe) and their forums when not at home. They have just introduced a new website and forum, which for some reason will not load properly into my Ipad.

    I tried Safari on my PC and the site works fine on that, as did the old WOW site on my Ipad.

    The error that comes up is always the same, either a single line of text or multiple lines. "Error on line xxx at column xx: comment not terminated<!--"
    It then renders the page up to the error. I get to the index page of the forums okay and it shows me the different thread headings, ie General, technical etc, but the above error is at the top of the page and if I try and open a thread heading all I get is the error message and the page is not rendered.

    My ipad is up to date with the 4.2 update, and I am baffled as to what the problem could be. Thanks for any help forthcoming.
     
  2. Hasty

    Hasty
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Have you tried an alternative browser such as Atomic or Perfect Browser?
    Probably an encoding error at their end.
     
  3. Spikie

    Spikie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for reply hasty, I did not know that you could use another browser on the Ipad. Thanks will give it a try :)
     
    #3 Spikie, Nov 24, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2010
  4. Spikie

    Spikie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Afraid that did not work I downloaded both Perfect Browser and Atomic and they both gave the exact same results as in Safari, if anyone else that read's this could just try their Ipads and see if you connect to world of warcrafts new site okay, and let me know in this thread, then I can more or less say it's a prob with my Ipad for some reason.

    I cannot post a link yet on this forum but if you go to the main wow europe site it will have links on their main page to the new site

    Appreciate any help thank you
     
  5. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Just surfed through several threads and replies there without any problem...try restarting your ipad
     
  6. Spikie

    Spikie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies folks, I have asked a few friends who also own 3g Iphones and they get the same errors on their phones. BrennB, hopefully I can now post a link and this is the new site , Forums - World of Warcraft

    I'm hoping you went to the original site :)

    Again could I ask some more people to check the site out on their Ipads Please, would really appreciate it. Thanks.
     
  7. col.bris

    col.bris
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,859
    Thanks Received:
    657
    The problem is that whom ever wrote the web site does not understand there is another world out there. It will be a coding problem most likely I suggest you email the web host and advise as it is up to them to correct it .

    The above is if in fact you can not resolve the issue by restarting the iPad
     
    #7 col.bris, Nov 28, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010
  8. Spikie

    Spikie
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you Col.bris, I have reset the Ipad and also Restored it, twice, thinking that may help but with the same results. As you say probably an en-coding problem, I'll do as you say and e-mail them, cheers.
     
  9. col.bris

    col.bris
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,859
    Thanks Received:
    657
    I just surfed the site and forum with out issue. For what ever reason your router modem may be the issue I have no other answers on how to correct it. Try going out side your house to a location that has wifi. I assume you are not on 3G
     
  10. BrennB

    BrennB
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I tried again from your link using both wifi only and 3G only and both times had no problems viewing posts in the forums
     

Share This Page