What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ipad folders

S_krystal

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I am new to ipad :) is there a way to make folders for things such as word docs and such as you do on a windows PC?

starmel18

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yes, with a file management app such as readdle docs or good reader and a cloud storage system like Dropbox.

Asharp

iPF Novice
Reaction score
S_krystal said:
I am new to ipad :) is there a way to make folders for things such as word docs and such as you do on a windows PC?

Yes, there is is the short answer, but as the first responder said: You need to be more specific. There is a way to make folders for your for documents depending on the specific app in question. Which one(s) do you mean?

jsh1120

iPF Noob
Reaction score
The answers above are technically correct but the OP is asking a common question for those new to the iPad, i.e. Where's the common file system I'm accustomed to looking at on my computer? The answer to that question is that it does not exist. "Files" are not stored on disk and available for multiple applications to access. Instead, the data associated with an app is "private" and managed by that app. There are some qualifications to the following, but basically it means that every application has a separate copy of a file to which it has access.