ipad app data persistant AFTER "erase all contents and settings" why ?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by jaxxxx, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. jaxxxx
    Offline

    jaxxxx iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i downloaded a video throught an ipad applications web browser and deleted the video and the application. i then did "erase all contents and settings". then reinstalled application. the video somehow remained in memory as i could access it without downloading it again. how does this persistent data remain memory ?
  2. dhewson777
    Offline

    dhewson777 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,356
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Did you restore after the erase?
  3. jaxxxx
    Offline

    jaxxxx iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    no restore after erase. i do not back up any app data with itunes or icloud. the only reason i thought of was the RAM memory flushed the contents of the video to flash memory when ipad shut down. then on reboot the system reloaded the video contents back into RAM before wiping the file system keys and recreating new keys.
  4. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +240 / 0
    Never use the "Erase all contents and Settings" in the Settings.app. It brings out more problems than solutions from my experience. If you ever want to wipe a device, use iTunes to DFU restore the device. It might be that the video is stored in a part of the system files that the erase all contents and settings does not reach, mostly the core system folders.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

erase all content and settings data remains

,
ipad erase all content and settings
,
is it possible to access data from ipad after erase all content and settings