iPad and windows domains

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Mike_J, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Mike_J
    Offline

    Mike_J iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is there anyway for iPad to authenicate to a windows domain?..We have recently started using iPads at work and would like to use them to view information on our intranet..but since the iPad is not a domain member it can not access our intranet...any help would be great...Thanks
  2. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I am in the same situation and as far as I can tell you can NOT make the iPad a member of the domain. One work around would to be to use a "cloud" service that has a client for the iPad as well as windows. The one that comes to mind is dropbox.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  3. OperatorX
    Offline

    OperatorX iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Right now the only option is RDP. We've setup a MS Terminal server and users use the iTap RDP client to access a windows desktop on our network.
  4. Mike_J
    Offline

    Mike_J iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the input...we have done test with RDP but this is not the route we won't to take...we are looking at a cloud solution right now
  5. TheX
    Offline

    TheX iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Yeah it is a pain to use RDP with the iPad.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  6. uniquename
    Offline

    uniquename iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Your intranet page authenticates automatically based on a PC having a domain membership?

    What type of webserver? I am assuming IIS...maybe add another form of authentication?
  7. Mike_J
    Offline

    Mike_J iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes we use IIS...Thanks for the input
  8. uniquename
    Offline

    uniquename iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    It totally depends on the amount of ipads you want on there...an easy solution would be to add basic authentication. Not the best choice, and sort of a pain adding each user if there are a lot or there are frequent changes.

    I'm not sure if ipads work with client certificates, but if they do this might be an option you'd like.
  9. Mike_J
    Offline

    Mike_J iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The iPad will accept client certificates but I haven't been able to make it work correctly...Thanks for the imput

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
add ipad to domain
,
add ipad to windows domain
,
can an ipad air join a domain
,
can ipad join domain
,
can you add ipad to a domain
,
connect ipad to domain
,
connect ipad to windows domain
,
connecting an ipad to a domain
,
connecting an ipad to a windows domain to test intranet apps
,
how do i connect my ipad to my domain
,
integrated windows authentication on ipad
,
ipad domain access
,
ipad domain join
,
ipad join domain
,
ipad login to windows domain
,
ipad on domain
,
ipad windows authentication
,
join domain from an ipad
,
join ipad to domain
,

join ipad to windows domain