What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iPad + Airport Express to stream music: How do I?

Skier76

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Right now, I have 4.2.1 on our wifi iPad. AirPlay doesn't show up. From a little googling, I guess you need some type of router/Airport or ATV working to get AirPlay to show up. Seems odd, but I'm not a programmer. I'm thinking I should update to 4.3 just to be safe....

My buddy just gave me an Airport Express he's not using. My thought: Plug this in to an outlet in our loft area, use a 3.5mm "patch" cable, plug cable to Express to shelf stereo system, use iPad over our wireless router to play music. Is this doable? Can the Express be a standalone without an ethernet cable?

Yesterday, I had a heckuva time setting up the AirPort Express. I had a flashing amber light. I did hard reset (held in the reset button while pugging in the unit). I then hooked up an ethernet cable to our laptop to the Airport Express. I had downloaded the Airport utility to the laptop which is running Windows Vista. It found the unit, but it still had two "issues". Something about a network. In hindsight, maybe it was trying to gain access to the wireless router...I'm not sure. Anyone ever set one of these up before? Apple's site had me thinking this was plug play...it was far from that. Although, we can't rule out operator error.

Thanks in advance.

Oh, sidenote. This set up is at our weekend place. So trouble shooting may be a bit tough. I did, however, update the firmware on the AirportExpress as instructed. I do have the model numer of the unit if that would be helpful.

Ral14

iPF Noob
Reaction score