What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

IPAD 4 to HDMI via IPAD 3 HDMI Cable and lightning connector

jules1981

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi I need some help please.

I am a novice iPad 4 user. Previously iPod 4 owner... Love it anyway.

Have my iPad 4 a HDMI cable with old connector for iPad 1, 2, & 3 and a lightning connector.

Want to put iPad 4 to my tv, plug it all in and iPad won't register connection.

Is this combination of cables and connectors ok?

Or do I need to buy a proper HDMI cable for iPad 4 ?

Thanks
Juliet

J. A.

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi I need some help please.

I am a novice iPad 4 user. Previously iPod 4 owner... Love it anyway.

Have my iPad 4 a HDMI cable with old connector for iPad 1, 2, & 3 and a lightning connector.

Want to put iPad 4 to my tv, plug it all in and iPad won't register connection.

Is this combination of cables and connectors ok?

Or do I need to buy a proper HDMI cable for iPad 4 ?

Thanks
Juliet

Hi, jules1981! Welcome to iPF!

To connect your iPad 4 to the TV, you need a HDMI cable and this adapter:

image-3935518111.jpg

image-1538434183.jpg

Apple Store

OP
J

jules1981

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Ok thanks I thought apple had released the connector so users could use their older apple cables with ipad 4, iPhone 5 etc

giradman

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Hi Juliet - welcome to the forum! :)