iPad 3G in India with MicroSim!!

Discussion in 'Indian iPad Forum' started by abhishek2, May 17, 2010.

  1. araje

    araje
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Activating ATT in US before taking to India may not be required

    Hi Tim,
    I scanned through many many posts over the weekend to understand this 3G issue - locked or unlocked and whether to be activated or not activated with ATT first before taking it out of US to say - India.

    It appears that one needs to activate the ipad by connecting it to itunes. Now, if that is done while being in the US then once you come to India it just works fine and you can swap the ATT sim (never used) and use a Airtel/Bsnl sim.
    I think the problem is eveyrone is just trying to unbox the ipad in inda, and put a local sim and expecting it to work. There are few people who have never used ATT activation and directly unboxed the ipad for the first time in india and got it working with BSNL - but that is after they followed the itunes activation on wifi.

    So, I think once the device is activated, then you should be able to use a local sim. What do you think !? Yesterday, I went to an apple store in PHX and this is what he told me. I have to admit that when I was chatting to support they said its ATT locked :) - but the store guy corrected it saying what they are really trying to say is that btwn ATT and verizon, its GSM only.

    Let me know what you think. I have my ipad coming in a couple of days (still deciding whether 16 or 32 and whether black or white :) )
    I have an indian SIM with international roaming with data. I am going to try that SIM while being in US to see if I latch to ATT - this is ofcourse after I activate the ATT sim with 14.99 plan and then removing it out just to confirm if there is any locking issue. I am expecting that with the Airtel sim that I have, I should be able to latch on to Tmobile on "E" (diff 3gband) or ATT on "H" networks. Lets see !!

    I am already using this SIM on my galaxy S phone here. Works data perfectly, so thats my baseline to compare to.
     
  2. sss249

    sss249
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hello there, any kind soul out there would help me???
    if i'm getting an ipad here in india, will it work with other 3G provider outside india??
     
  3. vb7ue

    vb7ue
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No iPad is locked to any specific provider, unlike iPhones. So if you buy it anywhere in the world, you could move on to any other service provider globally.
     
  4. sss249

    sss249
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanx a lot for the clarification
     
  5. Zamiruddin

    Zamiruddin
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I will be in India for a month and would like to use my iPad there. I am visiting from Canada. What do you recommend? I will be in Delhi.
     
  6. senthildent

    senthildent
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think you would've reached India by now, try BSNL in my experience aircell has very good 3gservice I mean in terms of data speeds. All he best
     
  7. Ramki1958

    Ramki1958
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an Airtel 3G for my iPad, prepaid connection. Is there a way I can check my prepaid balance? How do I know when I run out of balance, do I assume that when I dont connect, I am out of balance? Thanks in advance for anyone who has a solution.
     
  8. senthildent

    senthildent
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Just call the customer care they will help you out. I don't know how to find out in airtel, but can help you if you're a BSNL
     
  9. araje

    araje
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yup you can. I do it all the time. But you need to jailbreak your ipad for it first. If you have done that, then there are lots of options.
    search for "USSD ipad" keywords in google. You will get many options but all need to be jailbroken first.


    Anup
     
  10. sudhanshu

    sudhanshu
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Anup can u pls help me to use this?? & tell me I have get iPad 2 from India only, so it needs to be jailbreak???
     

Share This Page


Search tags for this page

apn for airtel sim in ipad for using internet for india

,
check sim card balance on ipad
,
how to activate airtel sim in ipad
,

how to check 3g balance in airtel prepaid on ipad

,
how to check 3g internet balance in ipad
,

how to check airtel 3g balance in ipad

,
how to know airtel balance in ipad
,
india apple mini ipad 3g sim card rates
,
sim card recharge
,
verizon ipad mini india