What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ipad 2 stuck in recovery mode

fraz422

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hey guys !
So I'm a uni student just now and before i left for university I gave my mum my ipad. I had jailbroken it with greenp0ison and i think it was on 5.1 ios. Anyway long story short after telling my mum do not update the ipad she clicked the update button. The ipad is now stuck in recovery mode and i have no clue how to fix it ! Heres the kicker though. my mums laptop which i jailbroke the ipad and which has the back up on the ipad on it isnt turning on. What do i do !?!

I have two questions basically : firstly what do i do ? and secondly can I just remove the ios from the ipad and install a non broken one.

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Well, you have a two-fold problem, that's for sure! :)

The first is that you will have to restore the iPad back to stock condition. The only iOS you can go to is iOS 6.1.3. You'll have to find a computer running the latest iTunes and use it to do that. The easiest way to describe the steps to restore is to refer you to this thread by my fellow moderator, f4780y: http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreak...lsafe-method-restore-current-version-ios.html

If you follow all the steps exactly as written, you should end up with a stock iPad running the newest iOS. Oh, you can't jail break it (as iOS 6.1.3 isn't jail breakable) but at least it'll be running.