1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Ipad 2 is unable to join network while other media can

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by razaliu, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. razaliu
    Offline

    razaliu iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Japan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I need help; my ipad2 is unable to join network at home wifi while others like laptop and handphone can. I have done so many things to the extend buy a new wifi router but still fail.
    Ironically, the ipad can connect to other wifi else where like at office, starbucks and etc.
    Does anyone has idea to solve this problem?
  2. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +851 / 1
    It does not seem that it is, or has been, a router problem. Try this for a solution, and apologies if you have already tried:
    Tap Settings>General>WiFi and then tap the blue arrow next to your Internet providers account. Then tap "Forget this Network".
    Then go back to WiFi and re-enter your ISP's Internet login info just like you did when you first set up your Internet account.
    If no go come back, there are other options. If OK let us know anyway, as others may learn from your experience.
    Regards, Andrew
  3. razaliu
    Offline

    razaliu iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Japan
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Andrew,
    Thanks for the reply..but under Setting>General no "WiFi options. I have on Reset that can be used to erase all configured network. If this the same thing that you're suggesting. I have done this many times but the result the same. I have just recently tried to change the network name as suggested by someone. But still no success.

    To make thing worst, my new Apple Tv also cannot connected. again, my laptop and hp are able to do so..really hope somebody can help.
  4. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,841
    Thanks Received:
    1,868
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,040 / 1
    You could also try resetting your network settings. To do so, go to Settings>General>Reset>Reset Network Settings.
  5. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +851 / 1
    No, I have given you a bum steer in what I said and I apologise. It is not Settings>General but Settings>WiFi, and then tap the ">" symbol next to your Internet account, and then "Forget this Network" and then re-enter your ISPs log-in info as I mentioned before. Do give this a try and come back with the result. I still do not think it is a modem/router problem, but at least try this before you get onto other actions. The suggestion by scifan above is also an action that has worked before.
    Regards, Andrew
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  6. jch_nj
    Offline

    jch_nj iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This sounds like a problem I just fixed today. Have your laptop and phone been able to connect previously, but your new ipod can't? I went through my router settings and discovered MAC filtering was enabled. Disabling it allowed me access. Try doing that. You can turn it back on once the new MAC address is known by the router.

    If you don't know what to do, on your browser type 192.168.1.1, enter the admin name and p/w. Go through the options until you find MAC filtering. Disable it and save. Hopefully that will solve your problem.
  7. Ipadusernow
    Offline

    Ipadusernow iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This solved my problem. Been messing around for hours, turned off Mac filtering and bam fixed. Thank you
  8. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the same problem with my iPad 2 – it will not connect to my Thomson TG782T router/modem. I went to 192.168.1.1, "server was not responding") then went to 192.168.1.254 but couldn't find anything in relation to settings or Mac filtering. My Samsung mobile connected first go but iPad simply says "Unable to join the network". Am I being as thick as a brick? Can you tell me where to find the settings.
    Many thanks,Maggie May
  9. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +851 / 1
    Hi Maggie May and welcome to the forum from a fellow Aussie. First, just try this and see how you go. Disconnect your router/modem for a minute then reconnect again. Restart your iPad. If that has not helped come back, there may be other solutions.
    Regards, Andrew


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  10. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Andrew,

    Thank you so much for replying. Unfortunately I am still getting the same reply from the iPad "unable to join the network". I would greatly appreciate any other suggestions you may have.

    Cheers,Maggie May
  11. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,841
    Thanks Received:
    1,868
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,040 / 1
    Try this. Go to Settings>General>Reset>Reset Network Settings, it may work. No data will be lost if you do this.
  12. zstairlessone
    Offline

    zstairlessone iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,052
    Thanks Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +439 / 0
    Quick question, did you try 192.168... From the iPad or another device? If you tried from the iPad it will not work until MAC filtering is either disabled or you add the iPad MAC address to the authorized list. The other possibility is the router uses a different internal IP address. Check the paperwork/instructions for your router to verify.

    Edit:

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  13. Blue92
    Offline

    Blue92 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    I'm leaning toward the WiFi on the iPwhatever is just flaky.

    I use Fing on the iPad to check the status and number of devices on my home WiFi. Not counting the router itself there are 12 devices listed with 8 currently active tonight.

    I have 3 laptops and a Toshiba Netbook that can be shutdown for days and always reconnect with no issue when started up. I have an XBox that has never had an issue with connecting when turned on. My Grand-Daughters Android tablet connects when she walks in the door. Same with a friend's Nook. Brother wireless printer is rock solid.

    2 iPhones and 1 iPad that frequently needs to have wireless turned off on the device and restarted before they will connect. Occasionally they will connect two or three days in a row but those days are very rare. Frequently the wireless connection on the iPxx devices needs reset more than once during the day.

    So the count is 9 non-iPxxxxx devices with no issues versus all three iPxxxx devices that are flakey.
  14. zstairlessone
    Offline

    zstairlessone iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,052
    Thanks Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +439 / 0
    Next time one won't connect try this:

    Turn off the cellular data for about 10 seconds and see if the iDevice will automatically connect to wifi.

    This sometimes happens, an iThingy will lock onto cellular and not release the connection. If it works can you let me know?
  15. The OB
    Offline

    The OB Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3,967
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Ratings:
    +851 / 1
    Hi again Maggie May. I'm wondering whether you had recently upgraded the operating system. That sometimes gives a differing default connection. Whether you have or not, try this. It has been known to help.
    General>WiFi, then tap the arrow next to your Internet Service Provider's name. Then tap on "Forget this Network". Then go back to WiFi and re-enter your ISP's requested info, just like you did when you first set up your ISP account.
    Regards, Andrew



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  16. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear Scifan57,

    Thank you so much – your solution worked a treat and I am now connected. As much as I love my Macs I dislike their habit of making it so difficult to connect to any products except their own.

    Many thanks,
    Maggie May
  17. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear zstairlessone,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to reply to my problem. Fortunately it has been solved by going to Settings>General>Reset>Reset Network Settings.

    Thank you again for your time.

    Cheers, Maggie May
  18. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear Andrew,

    Thank you for replying again. Sorry I couldn't try yesterday but lost electricity supply due to flooding (again!).

    I updated to OS6.1.2 this morning and going to Settings>General>Reset>Reset Network Settings has solved my problem.

    Thank you again for your time I really appreciate it.

    Cheers,
    Maggie May
  19. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear zstairlessone,

    Thank you very much for both your suggestions. I really appreciate all the time people have spent to solve my problem. iThingy things can be a pain in the proverbial!

    Cheers,
    Maggie May
  20. Maggie May
    Offline

    Maggie May iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gympie, Queensland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear Blue92,

    Thank you for taking the time to post. Fortunately my problem has been solved! Yes, iThingies are an absolute pain when trying to connect to non-Mac products. However, I won't be forced to use their products only and hence am so grateful for this forum for solving my problem.

    Cheers,
    Maggie May

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to solve unable to join on ipad
,
ipad 2 unable to join network
,
ipad help unable to join the network
,
ipad says failed to join network
,
ipad says unable to join network
,

ipad unable to join network

,
ipad unable to join the network
,
ipad unable to join wifi but can connect to others
,
my ipad says unable to join network
,
unable to join network
,
unable to join network ipad
,
unable to join network on i pad
,
unable to join network on ipad
,
unable to join network on ipad 2 solu
,
unable to join network on ipad2
,
unable to join the network
,
unable to join the network ipad
,
unable to join the network on ipad
,
why does my ipad say unable to join network when i pick a wifi
,
why is my ipad unable to join my wifi network