What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ipad 2 - Increasing Memory

Teazel Town

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I currently own an IPad 2 (16GB) Is there anyway of increasing this memory on my existing IPad or do I need to upgrade to a bigger tablet? I'm having trouble loading apps and I keep getting the message to increase memory by going to my settings? Unfortunately, I'm not very technically gifted when it comes to this type of thing so any guidance would be appreciated.
Kind regards Alan

Mickey330

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I currently own an IPad 2 (16GB) Is there anyway of increasing this memory on my existing IPad or do I need to upgrade to a bigger tablet? I'm having trouble loading apps and I keep getting the message to increase memory by going to my settings? Unfortunately, I'm not very technically gifted when it comes to this type of thing so any guidance would be appreciated.
Kind regards Alan

Unfortunately, there is no way to increase the memory size of the iPad. The only way is to buy one with more storage.

Note that this applies for things such as putting apps on it. However, there are external storage solutions such as cloud storage (such as Dropbox) or physical iPad-compatible drives to increase storage (such as the Air Stash or the Seagate external drives).

But, if you want to put more apps on the iPad than your memory will hold, your only solution is to delete some apps you already have installed or get a bigger iPad. Sorry.

Marilyn

MattIM

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Teazel Town said:
Kind regards Alan