What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iPad 2 GPS

bxf

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm completely new to GPS, as well as to the iPad 2 (just bought one for my wife), so please bear with me if my questions are simplistic.

We are able to use the GPS function with Navfree. When we are at home, with an internet connection, we can set a destination, and away we go, with turn-by-turn voice instructions. Quite useful, and beats the heck out of what my wife has been calling my "manual GPS", otherwise known as handwritten notes transcribed from Google Maps:).

However, if we try to do a Navfree address search while in the car, we are told we need an internet connection. From the limited reading I've done, I am led to understand that one needs maps to perform such a search, but I also see statements saying that Navfree includes onboard maps stored in the iPad itself, so I don't understand the apparent contradiction. We get the same "connection required" message even if I put an address that is just around the corner from our house, i.e. a street that is already within the route that has already been processed, so the software should be aware of this particular street, without having to look it up, I'd think. I trust I'm making sense here.

And just in case it makes any difference, I live in Portugal.

Can anyone explain, please? Any useful information would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I don't understand this either, unless the route search algorithm is hosted by the company's computers. I'm subscribing to the thread to see if other Members have a solution.

Tim

MattIM

iPF Novice
Reaction score