1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Ipad 2 4.3.3 reboot after clicking app.. HELP!

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by miveclau, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. miveclau
    Offline

    miveclau iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,

    My ipad 2 with 4.3.3 jailbreakme had a weird screen.. and reboot after i click any app including cydia. I notice the app spacing is wide and i don't see the battery status too. I did a restore but it still the same (note: the cydia app is still around).

    Can anyone help me? please.....:(
  2. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,319
    Thanks Received:
    1,617
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,691 / 0
    You've installed something on your iPad that is usually meant to be for the iPhone.

    Think back on the last tweak(s) you installed before you noticed this problem. Then, either list them here so we can help you ID the culprit or try uninstalling them one-by-one to try to find the guilty party.

    As a side note, a respring of the iPad will reset the icons to normal. It won't stop it acting hinky after a reboot, but it'll make things look "normal" while you try to figure out which tweak needs to go.

    Let us know how you get on.

    Marilyn
  3. egodz51
    Offline

    egodz51 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    same thing is happening to me.

    i'm unable to open any app without my ipad restarting; this includes getting into settings. i'm also unable to change orientation between landscape and portrait; it's stuck on portrait. no battery life either.

    HELP!
  4. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    If you have SBSettings, can you bring that up on the lockscreen without it respringing?
    If so, go to "Power" and choose "Safe Mode". From there you should be able to launch Cydia and remove whatever incompatible iPhone app you installed....
  5. asus78
    Offline

    asus78 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    aramis78@arcor.de
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does anybody have a solution for this? I dont have access to anything, it crashes every time. No sbsettings or similar. Is there a way to boot in safe mode so i can get rid of the cydia app i installed?

    Pls help, my ipad is 2 days old :(
  6. andrewhtf
    Offline

    andrewhtf iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    how a bout a total restore?
  7. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    I wouldn't go the total restore route yet. You will lose your JB for good.

    Did you install OpenSSH? If so, you can get a command line by logging in from your PC and triggering safe mode that way...

    Use something like putty to get a command line. Log in with root / alpine (or whatever you have changed your password to), then enter the command..

    touch var/mobile/Library/Preferences/com.saurik.mobilesubstrate.dat

    and that should trigger safe mode if I remember correctly.

    If you don't have OpenSSH or SBSettings installed, things are looking grim... What the heck did you have installed? ? ?
  8. goo
    Offline

    goo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i had the same thing but i could not find any advice earlier or help, sad to say, there is no solution as i had to restore to 4.3.5 and all is well, but JB gone.... cos some files are corrupted. Hmm hope the best to u guys.
  9. Jimmywang950
    Offline

    Jimmywang950 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    assuming you don't have shsh's saved and want to preserve your jailbreak

    SSH into Var/library/mobilesubstrate/dynamiclibaries and make a backup of this folder, now delete the contents. Reboot. Find the culprit by reinstalling your Cydia apps (most likely tweaks) one by one, rebooting in between each reinstall. Find your culprit yet?. Look in the folder of the backup and delete the substrate and remove from Cydia.

    If you don't have SSH, download ifunbox it is free. Plug your iPad in and navigate from there.
  10. asus78
    Offline

    asus78 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    aramis78@arcor.de
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I had to update to 4.3.5 which sucks big time. No jailbreak until ios 5 or i downgrade which i tried but when finally everything worked after a couple of hours (using umbrella etc.) error 1600 showed up which can only be solved with snowbreeze which only works on Windows. *argh*

    Error 1600 doesnt allow you to install a customized ipsw. Redsnow didnt work either since it does not recognize the ipsw file although i have used the exact same files (tried more than one version) they told me to download. It is getting really annoying by now...
  11. goo
    Offline

    goo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    asus78, do u have 4.3.3 SHSH blobs saved? your own blobs, not other's? i donot think u have as its 2 days old, i think we are on the same boat. not possible to downgrade. i am hoping not to think of JB so that time passes quicker.
  12. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    Since your iPad2 is new there is no way to downgrade. You must stay on 4.3.5 without a JB now. Sorry.

    I did try to warn you not to restore yet... :(
  13. desaiguddu
    Offline

    desaiguddu iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Joining in the Crew

    I am facing the same problem ..
    Only option left seems to upgrade with 4.3.5 and i will lose tons of apps and JB settings...
    I had near about 200 apps..!

    Sad Day today..!
  14. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    You can get back your apps when you re-jailbreak. I think. I did!
  15. nina.tunes
    Offline

    nina.tunes iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I only made an account here to save the future users with the same problem.
    First what happend, don´t intall "findmyphone" on an IPad ;-) it turns it into a IPhone with the problems descrebed.

    What worked for me to solve the problem was following:

    1. Take out your SIM card if 3g
    2. Then you will be able to tap and use the apps but only for a few sec´s before IPad freezes
    3. Use cydia to uninstall the app like descreebed anywhere here
    4. U will have to be fast and use the home button to go back and forth deeper and deeper until you remove the faulty app.

    Hope this will help anyone, take care
  16. seamus517
    Offline

    seamus517 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks nina...I am stuck in the same boat, but I have Verizon so no SIM card...any way for me to get in? I just got my iPad2 and dont have SHSH blobs or any way to restore.

    I see the culprit "Data Counter" app on my home screen, will "Xing" it out, remove it?






  17. jr_dude
    Offline

    jr_dude iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Garden State
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello All--
    did this get resolved? my ipad 2 is doing the same and I really dont want to loose my jailbrake.
    I would love to know if there is any updates to this!
    jr_dude
  18. tajeah
    Offline

    tajeah iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    mississippi
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    how do you use funbox? I have downloaded it and don't know what to do now. i have also downloaded openssh and it says to do go into c program 86x/ect/ and change some password thing but i don't see nothing that says anything about a password in it help please

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to get in safe mode for ipad in restart loop

,

ipad restart in safemode