1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

IPad 1 -> IPad 2 Sim card?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by xardoz, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. xardoz
    Offline

    xardoz iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hollidaysburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Anyone know if you'll just be able to put your old sim card from IPad 1 in the new IPad2 and continue service without doing anything else?
  2. vvva
    Offline

    vvva iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In addition to this question, does anybody know if the new iPad 2 is locked to AT&T or I can use it with any GSM carrier? IPad 1 3G was not locked as I know.
  3. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Both have mini-SIM slots, so you can simply swap them.
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011
  4. twerppoet
    Online

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,998
    Thanks Received:
    1,857
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,003 / 1
  5. tzimisce
    Offline

    tzimisce iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    From the Apple online store:

    "iPad with Wi-Fi + 3G Connects to the Internet via Wi-Fi and over 3G cellular networks with AT&T or Verizon Wireless. (3G service sold separately.) Select the model that corresponds with the carrier you'd like to use for 3G service. The iPad you choose is configured to work only with one carrier."
  6. Mtnmedic
    Offline

    Mtnmedic iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    823
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Antelope, OR
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
  7. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,196
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Considering Apple only views AT&T and Verizon as network providers, an AT&T iPad might very well work with any other provider. Don't see why they would restrict it, but then again I don't know how it is handled in the US. The UK version definitely won't be tied to one provider.
  8. Abrennan
    Offline

    Abrennan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am hoping it is hassle free and we can just swap sims. When I bought my sim I didn't have to give any ipad details, it was activated whilst I waited at the shop (telstra, in Australia ) and when I got home I put it in my device and it worked straight away. So I am hoping I can just pop it iPad 2 and off we go
  9. trevor_fl
    Offline

    trevor_fl iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I called ATT. To update the new information about your new device and/or sim card you can call them to let them know about it. Or you can enter it yourself at:

    https://dcp2.att.com/OEPNDClient/

    If you are not sure, then call ATT.

    Have a geat day all :)
  10. Abrennan
    Offline

    Abrennan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Same here in Australia we are not locked in to any particular provider. Hopefully that means I ca swap my sim into my iPad 2. I will ask the telco closer to the event and report. Months out they are notoriously ignorant of these things.
  11. PhotoJim
    Offline

    PhotoJim iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Regina, SK, CA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Micro-, actually. :) The common SIM cards today are mini-SIMs. Full-sized SIMs are the size of a credit card. (The card that a SIM card comes in is designed to fit really old devices that take the original full-sized SIM, but I doubt too many are in use anymore.)
  12. Abrennan
    Offline

    Abrennan iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes simply swapping worked without a hitch

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i put a sim from ipad1 into an ipad2
,
can you put a sim card in ipad1
,
does ipad 1 and ipad 2 have the same size sim card
,
does my ipad have a sim card
,
ipad 1 sim
,

ipad 1 sim card

,

ipad 1 sim card size

,
ipad 1 sim card-size
,
ipad 1 sim size
,
ipad 2 sim card location
,
ipad 2 sim card size
,
ipad 2 sim size
,
ipad mini 1 sim card size
,
ipad2 3g what kind of sim
,
sim card for ipad 1
,
sim card size for ipad 2
,
sim size in ipod 2
,
what size sim card does ipad 2 take
,
what size sim does the original ipad take?
,
what type of sim card fits an i-pad 1?