1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Ipad 1 and Garageband

Discussion in 'iPad for Musicians' started by Fid, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Quite a while back I lost the chord names off of the smart guitars in GarageBand. I cannot find that there is a fix for this in the settings. I don't find anything about this on the web. The best thing would be for me to use it as a learning experience and figure them out, but I would like to have them displayed again. Any suggestions?

    Sent from my iPad using iPF - Peace
  2. RudyL90
    Offline

    RudyL90 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    You lost the chord names... I don't know what you mean. But you can change chords in the setting of the smart guitar, of that is what you mean?
  3. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Thanks Rudy. I am also missing the letters representing the chords in the smart strings. You can see these letters in the picture examples in the Apple App Store for GarageBand. The picture of the smart strings shows a chord name at the top of each chord area on the neck. Before an update the chord letter names used to show up on GarageBand on my iPad. I don't know if they are showing up on other's iPads and it is unique to iPad 1.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF - Peace
  4. RudyL90
    Offline

    RudyL90 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    They should show up. See picture below, I have disabled the second chord.
    Use the option "edit chords". If that is not the problem, I don't know what is.

    Attached Files:

  5. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    On my iPad I'm not getting the letters as in these pictures. On my iPhone the chord letters are there and helpful. Maybe I'll drag my wife's laptop to a place with good wifi and do a full restore on my iPad. It's a tricky endeavor, in that I have to connect to Apple and restore from backup. I'm on dialup at home and this sometimes times out.
    Thanks for the help.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF - Peace

    Attached Files:

  6. RudyL90
    Offline

    RudyL90 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Before restoring your iPad, maybe you should remove Garageband and reinstall it? But I guess you have already tried this.
  7. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Thanks Rudy, but I already tried that. I backed up my songs to iTunes first. I also emailed some of them out previously.

    Sent from my iPad using iPF - Peace

Share This Page