Ios6 and Siri

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Francesca025, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. Francesca025
    Offline

    Francesca025 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I installed ios6 and Siri is nowhere to be found. Help, please.
  2. KevinJS
    Online

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,263
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Press and hold the home button. I think I read that somewhere.

    I assume you have an iPad 3 because it doesn't work on the iPad 2.
  3. Francesca025
    Offline

    Francesca025 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks, my mistake, I have ipad2....bummer.
  4. KevinJS
    Online

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,263
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Me too. Sux, eh. Might have to get an iPhone 5 so I can join the party.
  5. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,575
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,120 / 1
    My sister loves it on her iPad 3...wished I had it too!
  6. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,430 / 1
    Mine arrives on the 9th of October.
  7. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,575
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +1,120 / 1
    You did the pre-order Sci?
  8. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,430 / 1
    Yes,but I ordered about 2 hours after the pre sale started. Even by then shipping times had slipped to 2 weeks. Shipping times today are 3-4 weeks.
  9. pyewacket
    Offline

    pyewacket iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Winchester UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Is there something in Siri that stops it from being loaded into ipad2...or is it a ploy by Apple to get people to upgrade to ipad3 ??

    leon
  10. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,445
    Thanks Received:
    1,713
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,832 / 0
    The iPad2 doesn't have the hardware that the iPad3 has, that's why it can't run Siri. Remember, Siri came out after the iPad2. So, the third generation iPad was released with the hardware - and now it gets the software to run it.

    Not a planned thing, I am sure. Just natural development as technology moves along.

    Marilyn
  11. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,430 / 1
    The reason the ipad3 got the hardware was for the dictation feature it was released with, back in March. The dictation feature uses the Siri servers to process the voice to text conversion.
  12. pyewacket
    Offline

    pyewacket iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Winchester UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks.....
  13. Calkid44
    Offline

    Calkid44 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I am told it does not come on the IPad2 nor does the Photo Paneramic
  14. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,161
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,430 / 1
    iPad 3 is the only iPad that got Siri as a result of the iOS 6 update. Panoramic photo feature is only available on the iPhones and the iPod touch 5th generation.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can siri be installed on a ipad2 with ios6
,
i have the new ipod with ios6 and seri ..firts i forgot my password and it is now dissabled
,

ipad2 siri ios6