Ios devices and network IP addresses

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by the dills, Jul 4, 2014.

  1. the dills

    the dills iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    The iPad is main culprit but but both our iphone 4s's also partially toddle off our network from time to time.

    All IP addresses are governed by the main router which is the DHCP server.

    The iPad always connects to our network and by and large retains the same IP address.

    The problem seems to be that whilst the iPad can browse the net and receive emails, notifications etc. it isn't actually visible to any other device on the network unless:

    WiFi is turned off and on again on the IPad.
    Or
    The IP lease is renewed on the iPad.

    The phones need the same treatment.

    The giveaway is that the ios device cannot find our Sonos network. The above actions resolve it.

    I don't have any trouble with our android tablet.

    Anyone know why my ios devices lose the plot?
     
  2. abababababab

    abababababab iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4,147
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +1,031 / 0
    This isn't a normal behavior. I can't think of any possible solution. In my opinion, you should contact your ISP.
     
  3. the dills

    the dills iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Thank you. I can't think that my isp will be much use. They will only suggest that I reset my router etc etc.

    It may be way that my router handles wireless devices that leave and re-join the network. None of the other wireless devices leave the house.
     
  4. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18,473
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +4,245 / 4
    Make sure your router's firmware is up to date. You'll probably have to visit the manufacturer's site to be sure.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  5. the dills

    the dills iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I'm afraid that was the first thing I checked
     
  6. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18,473
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +4,245 / 4
    Darn.

    Then you've done all I can think of. The fact that the iPad can still get emails and browse means it's not the DHCP or basic router services failing, but some other network protocol failing. Maybe Bonjour, or whatever the Sonos network uses.

    Maybe you can find out what that is, and if there are any updates relegated to it.

    Good luck.


    Oh, and one other thing. Keep an eye on the subnet mask. See if it is different when the network is visible and not. That it it's job after all, separating devices into sub-networks.
     
  7. Warren9981

    Warren9981 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Try changing the lease time so the IP address lease is changed at a shorter interval. This will force the router to poll and renew leases quicker.
    The router will usually have a lease time of days, so if your device leaves the network and then comes back in range there could be confusion in the router.
    Rebooting or restarting wifi will force the router to provide a new lease.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  8. the dills

    the dills iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I think the problem lies hidden in the bowels of my network. I have a main DHCP serving wireless router, a secondary router connected by LAN cable to that and a wireless A/P connected connected by LAN cable to the secondary router. Some devices
    show in the main router's ARP table some in the DHCP table. DHCP lease time is 24 hours.
    The Sonos connection is an effect rather than a cause. It is always accessible from one device or another via LAN or wireless.
    I also have a WDS wireless range extender in my annex. This feeds off the main router but is too far away for my devices to connect to by accident. Only the main router has DHCP server enabled. The server range is 100 to 200 and all the AP's are outside this at 251 to 254.
    Perhaps a router reset is called for. It would probably help if the secondary router was replaced by proper 4 or 6 way switch.
     
  9. abababababab

    abababababab iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4,147
    Thanks Received:
    696
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ratings:
    +1,031 / 0
    Good luck! Hope that helps you.
     
  10. the dills

    the dills iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    UPDATE
    I set DHCP lease time to 6 hours rather than the default 24 hours and so far everything talks to everything else.
    Fingers crossed!
     
  11. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    18,473
    Thanks Received:
    3,325
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +4,245 / 4
    It sounds like your on top of it.

    Good luck. :)
     

Share This Page