iOS 6 on iPad 1

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by titusc, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. titusc

    titusc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    #1 titusc, Dec 15, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  2. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    It cannot be done. End of. There is no hack. No jailbreak. No way to get IOS 6 on an iPad1. Don't waste your time trying.
    Same with the latest iPhoto. You cannot make it run on the iPad1. It requires IOS6 and it requires more resources than the iPad1 has at its disposal.
     
  3. titusc

    titusc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks. Any reason why jailbreak exists for upgrading other iPads' iOS but not the iPad1? Just want to know why some can and some can't.
     
  4. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25,458
    Thanks Received:
    6,619
  5. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25,458
    Thanks Received:
    6,619
    Among other things, the iPad 1 RAM isn't sufficient to support the upgrade to iOS 6.
     
    #5 scifan57, Dec 15, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  6. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    A jailbreak has nothing to do with giving you the ability to "upgrade" the IOS installed on an iPad in the sense you mean it in. It is about enhancing the version of IOS installed on the device already to do things which Apple does not normally support. For example, to add a 5 row keyboard, theme the OS, tweak the springboard layout, etc. You should visit our hacking section and read the various threads there for more info - iPad Hacking

    What it does not do, is enable you to install IOS6 and the latest iPhoto on the iPad1. As has been pointed out, the iPad1 just doesn't have enough resources at its disposal to run them. Sorry :(
     
  7. titusc

    titusc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks. However, it looks like I can trick the iPad into announcing it has iOS 6 by changing the following file.
    /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist

    Here are some links of other people having done something similar.
    HOW-TO change the version number (e.g 1.1.3) | iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch forums | iFans
    Need Serious Help! System Version.plist File Needed ASAP!
    Changed iOS version. Appstore now broken - JailbreakQA

    As for iPhoto I understand it requires resources but I don't mind running it a bit slower since a few other people on the net have also been able to do this without too much performance penalty.

    Thanks for the hacking link.
     
  8. titusc

    titusc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay just jailbroken my iPad 1 with redsnow, and installed OpenSSH with Cyndia. Here's what my /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist file looks like.

    Code:
    iPad:/System/Library/CoreServices root# ls -ltr SystemVersion.plist-r--r--r-- 1 root wheel 415 Jun 15  2012 SystemVersion.plist
    iPad:/System/Library/CoreServices root# cat SystemVersion.plist
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
            <key>ProductBuildVersion</key>
            <string>9B206</string>
            <key>ProductCopyright</key>
            <string>1983-2012 Apple Inc.</string>
            <key>ProductName</key>
            <string>iPhone OS</string>
            <key>ProductVersion</key>
            <string>5.1.1</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    I have now edited to the following. Strange enough "view" / "vi" / "vim" are all not available so I had to use WinSCP.
    Code:
    iPad:/System/Library/CoreServices root# cat SystemVersion.plist<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
            <key>ProductBuildVersion</key>
            <string>9B206</string>
            <key>ProductCopyright</key>
            <string>1983-2012 Apple Inc.</string>
            <key>ProductName</key>
            <string>iPhone OS</string>
            <key>ProductVersion</key>
            <string>6.0.1</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    Immediately upon doing so, I can see the new Version in Settings -> General -> About. It's shown with following. Not sure what the 9B206 in brackets mean. If anyone knows, please share with us.
    Code:
    Version 6.0.1 (9B206)
    Strange enough, both iPhone Configuration Utility and iTunes are still indicating my device as 5.1.1. Any idea what are missing still?
     
  9. scifan57

    scifan57
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25,458
    Thanks Received:
    6,619
    None of this is going to give you iOS 6 on an iPad 1. Neither will it allow you to use iPhoto on your iPad 1. What you've missed is that you don't, and never will, have iOS 6 on your iPad 1.
     
    #9 scifan57, Dec 15, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  10. titusc

    titusc
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not trying to install iOS 6 onto the iPad 1 if it's not possible. Just trying to get one of iPad 1 / iTunes / iPhone Configuration Utility to think my device is on iOS 6 so I can install iPhotos on it.

    Any idea where iTunes / iPhone Configuration Utility is retrieving the iOS number from? Thought that'd be from /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
how to get ios 6 on ipad 1
,
how to install ios 6 on ipad 1
,

install ios 6 on ipad 1

,
install ios 6 on ipad 1 hack
,
install ios 6 on jailbroken ipad 1
,
install ios6 on ipad 1
,
ios 6 for ipad 1
,
ios 6 ipad 1
,
ios 6 ipad 1 hack
,

ipad 1 ios 6