iOS 6 on iPad 1

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by titusc, Dec 15, 2012.

  1. titusc
    Offline

    titusc iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  2. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    It cannot be done. End of. There is no hack. No jailbreak. No way to get IOS 6 on an iPad1. Don't waste your time trying.
    Same with the latest iPhoto. You cannot make it run on the iPad1. It requires IOS6 and it requires more resources than the iPad1 has at its disposal.
  3. titusc
    Offline

    titusc iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks. Any reason why jailbreak exists for upgrading other iPads' iOS but not the iPad1? Just want to know why some can and some can't.
  4. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,071
    Thanks Received:
    2,041
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,292 / 1
  5. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,071
    Thanks Received:
    2,041
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,292 / 1
    Among other things, the iPad 1 RAM isn't sufficient to support the upgrade to iOS 6.
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  6. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    A jailbreak has nothing to do with giving you the ability to "upgrade" the IOS installed on an iPad in the sense you mean it in. It is about enhancing the version of IOS installed on the device already to do things which Apple does not normally support. For example, to add a 5 row keyboard, theme the OS, tweak the springboard layout, etc. You should visit our hacking section and read the various threads there for more info - iPad Hacking

    What it does not do, is enable you to install IOS6 and the latest iPhoto on the iPad1. As has been pointed out, the iPad1 just doesn't have enough resources at its disposal to run them. Sorry :(
  7. titusc
    Offline

    titusc iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks. However, it looks like I can trick the iPad into announcing it has iOS 6 by changing the following file.
    /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist

    Here are some links of other people having done something similar.
    HOW-TO change the version number (e.g 1.1.3) | iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch forums | iFans
    Need Serious Help! System Version.plist File Needed ASAP!
    Changed iOS version. Appstore now broken - JailbreakQA

    As for iPhoto I understand it requires resources but I don't mind running it a bit slower since a few other people on the net have also been able to do this without too much performance penalty.

    Thanks for the hacking link.
  8. titusc
    Offline

    titusc iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Okay just jailbroken my iPad 1 with redsnow, and installed OpenSSH with Cyndia. Here's what my /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist file looks like.

    Code:
    iPad:/System/Library/CoreServices root# ls -ltr SystemVersion.plist-r--r--r-- 1 root wheel 415 Jun 15  2012 SystemVersion.plist
    iPad:/System/Library/CoreServices root# cat SystemVersion.plist
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
            <key>ProductBuildVersion</key>
            <string>9B206</string>
            <key>ProductCopyright</key>
            <string>1983-2012 Apple Inc.</string>
            <key>ProductName</key>
            <string>iPhone OS</string>
            <key>ProductVersion</key>
            <string>5.1.1</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    I have now edited to the following. Strange enough "view" / "vi" / "vim" are all not available so I had to use WinSCP.
    Code:
    iPad:/System/Library/CoreServices root# cat SystemVersion.plist<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
            <key>ProductBuildVersion</key>
            <string>9B206</string>
            <key>ProductCopyright</key>
            <string>1983-2012 Apple Inc.</string>
            <key>ProductName</key>
            <string>iPhone OS</string>
            <key>ProductVersion</key>
            <string>6.0.1</string>
    </dict>
    </plist>
    
    Immediately upon doing so, I can see the new Version in Settings -> General -> About. It's shown with following. Not sure what the 9B206 in brackets mean. If anyone knows, please share with us.
    Code:
    Version 6.0.1 (9B206)
    Strange enough, both iPhone Configuration Utility and iTunes are still indicating my device as 5.1.1. Any idea what are missing still?
  9. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,071
    Thanks Received:
    2,041
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,292 / 1
    None of this is going to give you iOS 6 on an iPad 1. Neither will it allow you to use iPhoto on your iPad 1. What you've missed is that you don't, and never will, have iOS 6 on your iPad 1.
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  10. titusc
    Offline

    titusc iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm not trying to install iOS 6 onto the iPad 1 if it's not possible. Just trying to get one of iPad 1 / iTunes / iPhone Configuration Utility to think my device is on iOS 6 so I can install iPhotos on it.

    Any idea where iTunes / iPhone Configuration Utility is retrieving the iOS number from? Thought that'd be from /System/Library/CoreServices/SystemVersion.plist.
  11. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,071
    Thanks Received:
    2,041
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,292 / 1
    It won't work because your iPad isn't on iOS 6. Faking it isn't good enough.
  12. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    What you are doing is akin to changing the badge on the back of your car to say it is now a 6 litre turbo. Under the bonnet it is still a 2 litre diesel, no matter what the badge says.
    What you are trying to do simply won't work. iPhoto is compiled against the 6.x binaries. It requires features of the operating system that you don't have. The latest version of iPhoto will not run on the iPad1, no matter what you try. You cannot hack it on there.
  13. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,071
    Thanks Received:
    2,041
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,292 / 1
    If you really want to use iPhoto on an iPad, you're going to need an iPad 2 at the very least.
  14. jrunner73
    Offline

    jrunner73 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA, TX
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    titusc you need to also adjust the version string (9B206) for the product system build. You could look at another product that is running 6 and use that to mask what the ipad is actually running. Installed without problem on my ipad 1.

  15. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,071
    Thanks Received:
    2,041
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,292 / 1
    It's not going to work, you can't spoof the Apple servers into believing that your iPad is running IOS 6, in order to install iOS 6 specific apps. Read the post by Super Moderator f4780y a few posts back.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  16. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    We don't take kindly to folks spreading misinformation on the forums. We pride ourselves on giving our members accurate facts, so let me be clear...

    IOS 6 cannot be installed on an iPad1 by simply changing a version string on the device or performing any other kind of trivial hack.

    The operating system must be optimised and compiled against the hardware in the device. You cannot simply force IOS 6 compiled for an iPad2, iPad3, iPad4, or iPad Mini onto the iPad1 by making iTunes think that a different device has been attached!

    If it was that simple we would all have been doing it since the day IOS6 was released! ;)
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  17. iJamesH
    Offline

    iJamesH iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    900
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +114 / 0
    I call stinky diapers on this!!!!!
    • Like Like x 1
  18. andrewhtf
    Offline

    andrewhtf iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'll call your bluff, photo of your ipad1 with the screen showing iPhoto.
  19. MagicalLogic
    Offline

    MagicalLogic iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I hear that a lot but you seem to forget the iPhone 3GS has the same amount of ram and a slower processor that the iPad 1 and it runs 6 just fine. Screen size aside, there is little reason for apple to orphan the ipad1.

    Its sad but I have an account that has 18 of them and was thinking last year of upgrading but when the iPad 1 was orphaned they drop the plan in favor of windows 8 pro (this year) and android last year.
  20. vaiiho
    Offline

    vaiiho iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    champigny
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The number is the device's one

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can i install ios 6 on ipad 1
,
how to get ios 6 on ipad 1
,

how to install ios 6 on ipad 1

,
install ios 6 ipad 1
,

install ios 6 on ipad 1

,
install ios 6 on ipad 1 hack
,
install ios 6 on ipad 1 jailbreak
,
install ios 6 on jailbroken ipad 1
,
install ios6 on ipad 1
,
installing ios 6 on ipad 1
,
ios 6 for ipad 1
,
ios 6 ipad 1 hack
,
ios 6 ipad 1 install
,
ios 6 ipad 1 jailbreak
,
ios 6 on ipad 1 hack
,

ipad 1 ios 6

,
ipad 1 ios 6 hack
,
ipad 1 ios 6 jailbreak
,
jailbreak ipad 1 ios 6
,
upgrade ipad 1 to ios 6 jailbreak