What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

iOS 4.e WiFi FAIL

iwhalperin

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have an iPad 3g that I've been using for the last several months. Both its 3G and WiFi have functioned flawlessly.

I loaded 4.2 this afternoon. 3G is working flawlessly (thank G-D) but WiFi is "toes up". Once activated WiFi sees our network. It is able to log-on but it is not admitted to our network. Checking Settings-WiFi-On and selecting SheilaNet and then after the WiFi symbol appears on the device (in its usual place) and then ciicking on SheilaNet shows an IP Address of 169.254.159.250. Our network is 192.168.1.nnn. My treasured iPad is unable to connect to the Internet.

All of our various Windows devices (phones and laptops) are able to log in the SheilaNet.

I am flummoxed by this problem and would appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you!

Ivan

w1ngman

iPF Noob
Reaction score
By 'our network', I'm assuming you mean your personal, home network? Are you in the position to restart/power cycle your wireless router? If so, try doing that and then try to reconnect your iPad to your network again. I can't say this will prove successful, but I've had need/success with recycling my home's wireless router on occasion.

Pocobear

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Also, go into settings and tell it to forget that network, and then, set it up again. You could also tell it to renew the lease. It's giving itself an address instead of getting the address from the router.

Al Rogers

iPF Noob
Reaction score