iOS 4.e WiFi FAIL

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by iwhalperin, Nov 23, 2010.

1. iwhalperin

iwhalperin
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    I have an iPad 3g that I've been using for the last several months. Both its 3G and WiFi have functioned flawlessly.

I loaded 4.2 this afternoon. 3G is working flawlessly (thank G-D) but WiFi is "toes up". Once activated WiFi sees our network. It is able to log-on but it is not admitted to our network. Checking Settings-WiFi-On and selecting SheilaNet and then after the WiFi symbol appears on the device (in its usual place) and then ciicking on SheilaNet shows an IP Address of 169.254.159.250. Our network is 192.168.1.nnn. My treasured iPad is unable to connect to the Internet.

All of our various Windows devices (phones and laptops) are able to log in the SheilaNet.

I am flummoxed by this problem and would appreciate any suggestions.

Thank you!

Ivan

2. w1ngman

w1ngman
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

Thanks Received:
    By 'our network', I'm assuming you mean your personal, home network? Are you in the position to restart/power cycle your wireless router? If so, try doing that and then try to reconnect your iPad to your network again. I can't say this will prove successful, but I've had need/success with recycling my home's wireless router on occasion.

3. Pocobear

Pocobear
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

Thanks Received:
    Also, go into settings and tell it to forget that network, and then, set it up again. You could also tell it to renew the lease. It's giving itself an address instead of getting the address from the router.

4. Al Rogers

Al Rogers
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

Thanks Received: