ios 4.3.5 issue

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by Eibla, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    After installation of IOS 4.3.5, updates and new apps just hang in w aiting State, I tried softa and Hard resets, We have very slow internet and I had to download IOS from a thread and manually install, any ideas?
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Can you access the Internet at all - i.e. is Safari and/or email working?

    Tim
  3. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes wifi and 3g (slow) but it runs like I said the ios runs fine on my iphone which was updated at the same time, its just on the ipad2 that downloads have. Ow become impossible. I even deleted the affected apps and tried to reinstall, no joy.
    Eibla
  4. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tim, i searched and it seems there are similar problems, but then the whole OS hangs, this one seems unique in that only the download option seems to hang, I understand your Q because its exactly what happens if comnectivity fails, except that the connections are active for apps like Safari.
    Albie
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    When you say you've tried a hard reset - do you mean a reboot - i.e. switching the iPad off, then pressing and holding the Power and Home buttons until the white Apple logo appears - can take a while - then letting it reboot?

    Tim
  6. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes I did, I eventually wiped the ipad now and restored from another xomputer which still had 4.3.3 os on a backup. I am gonna reinstalln4.3.5 now
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Let us know how you get on...

    Tim
  8. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Tim I will
  9. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Eureka! FYI if you install IOS 4.3.5 from a download i.e. not downloaded via iTunes, do it on your Primary Authorized Computer, it seems the installation is incomplete if done on any other Computer, even if it is Authorized. I reinstalled, an everything is fine, as usual on Apples!
    Albie
  10. Raiderspen
    Offline

    Raiderspen iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    memphis
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm still running 4.3.4. Is there a big reason to install 4.3.5?
  11. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Not really, apparently a security patch or two were include, there isnt much additional funcunality, that I found, its just my opinion.
  12. f4780y
    Online

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    IOS updates and upgrades can go wrong for any number of reasons. I am really glad that a fresh restore worked in your case, however, there is NO rule which says it must be on a "Primary Authorised Computer" to work. What you experienced was simply a bad upgrade which could happen for ANY reason.
    The restore process is EXACTLY the same on any PC with iTunes. That is why, for example, any Apple employee could restore your device for you in an Apple store. It is also the reason I can help my friends by doing it for them on my PC. That would be impossible if success was tied to one "master" PC per device, wouldn't it?

    I am very glad you go it sorted though. I just want to make that clear so that our members do not misunderstand and believe they can only successfully restore on one "primary" PC. That is no how Apple devices work.

    The only thing you are tied to is synchronizing your iTunes library from one PC. Devices can be restored on any PC.
  13. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Granted, I am just a user sharing a problem solved, not a developer or even at techi.
  14. Eibla
    Offline

    Eibla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    oh, and I never said you can only restore from the Primary, my solution came from re-installing the ugraded IOS from the Primary Authorised.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

i tried to download ios 5 on ipad 2 now computer is slow hard to get on internet