iOs 4.3.3?

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by Heaviside, May 2, 2011.

  1. Heaviside
    Offline

    Heaviside iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Just saw an item on Flipbook saying that Apple is going to update the iOS to remove the tracking and that it will free up a lot of memory.

    Anyone know for sure?
  2. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Apple will adjust the tracking in some ways. But let's just remind us, that it does not track your position, it tracks the date and location of the radio masts the iPad/iPhone connects to. These signals can travel a few kilometers, so all you get is a map of the radio masts and due to the time stamps a wage idea of where you, the iOS user have been.

    Anyway, Apple will adjust the tracking, so that the file will not be copied over onto your computer, the file will be deleted when turning off location services and it will be auto deleted more often, when location services are turned on.
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    And if it frees up "a lot" of memory, I'll eat my hat...
  4. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,872
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +325 / 0
    Will iPad 1 get Multi touch gestures Leigh?
  5. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    But it already does? You can activate them the same way on either iPad 1, or iPad 2. Though the animations on iPad 1 are quite sluggish, especially switching between apps.
  6. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,872
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +325 / 0
    I thought it was only for JB iPads. I think it's called Xcode, not sure though.
  7. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
  8. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Non JB can have it enabled using Xcode which is a Mac development toolset, or you can jailbreak and get them easily that way. I'm sure there's a post somewhere on here if you search...
  9. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Right above you :D
  10. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,872
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +325 / 0
  11. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,872
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +325 / 0
    Oh, sorry Leigh, I've failed the search button again! Heck, I have an old brain sometimes sorry! Forgive me!
  12. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    It's not on any device officially yet Hayles. It's supposed to be a developer only preview to see what applications it interferes with and what other bugs it drives out... You are getting it early, not late!
  13. DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Offline

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Actually the multigestures are on all iOS devices, but they are disabled. They are not activated on any device by default, not even on iPad 2. They are disabled, because they are still in development.

    Or the above :D
  14. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Above you this time! LOL
  15. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,872
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +325 / 0
    You boys!

Share This Page