iOS.13.n Protect apps from deletion

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by iBozz, Nov 6, 2019.

  1. iBozz

    iBozz
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Thanks Received:
    29
    In previous iOS versions, there has been a facility to prevent apps being deleted without entering the passcode. I used this, and the ability to prevent in-app purchases, to prevent my inquisitive Grandchildren from doing things that they oughtn't!

    Now that I am on iOS.13.n, last night I wanted to delete and reinstall a troublesome app - but found the delete protection set to on, presumably carried over from the previous versions of iOS - and for the life of me I cannot find where Apple have hidden the On/off toggle for app deletion, purchases, etc.requiring a passcode.

    I've attempted to search the interwebbything but to no avail.

    Can someone put me out of my misery and tell me where I can now find these useful options?

    many thanks in advance.
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    20,823
    Thanks Received:
    13,720
    That has been moved to Settings - Screen Time - Content & Privacy Restrictions in iPadOS 13.
     
  3. iBozz

    iBozz
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Many thanks - there's some twisted logic in hiding it there! I wouldn't have connected Screen Time (something which is of absolutely no interest to me - I'm no fan of Dark Mode either for that matte, but I digress) with protecting my iPad from roaming Grandchildren's' enquiring little fingers!

    App now deleted and reinstalled.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    20,823
    Thanks Received:
    13,720
    You’re welcome.
     

Share This Page