Internet??

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by Ladybird, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. Ladybird
    Offline

    Ladybird iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North west England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, when I got my IPad I thought I would only use it at home with my wi fi , so didn't get the 3G. I am going into hospital soon and really wish I had the 3G .......I think there is a way I can connect........something like a dongle???Can anyone help an OAP in distress:eek::):)
  2. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    No. You can't connect to 3G on a non 3G iPad. But, why not connect to the hospital's wifi system?
  3. A.K
    Offline

    A.K iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Iceland
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    U can use ur phone as wifi hotspot that is if ur having a smart phone.
  4. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Yes you can, I use a MyFi with my wifi only iPad, it is fantastic, super fast too!

    The Archangel
    • Like Like x 1
  5. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Of course, but that's not the iPad connecting to the Internet direct. That's a work around like A.K.'s idea. Could be quite costly to set up just for a hospital visit if you don't already have the facility.
  6. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    But the op mentioned about a dongle........which is a workaround.

    FWIW, I stayed in hospital earlier this year and guess what......no wifi. i was in a brand new (opened this year) hospital a couple of weeks back and guess what, no wifi networks detected, which surprised me, but still, not a bean.....just switched on my MyFi and off I went.

    I bought a PAYG MyFi from 3 which comes loaded with 3GB of data. Only need to top it up if I need to use it, no contract.....really is great.

    The Archangel
  7. Ladybird
    Offline

    Ladybird iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North west England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for answers. It must be the MiFi that I have heard of, is it easy to understand? Hospital doesn't have wifi.
  8. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Yes, really easy, and any problems then you know where we are for help......have a look here http://www.three.co.uk/Mobile_Broadband/MiFi

    Any questions about it just ask, I've been using mine for just under a month.

    The Archangel
  9. scudder
    Offline

    scudder iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Check with the hospital administration before splashing out money because a lot of NHS hospitals have a ban on using mobile devices and that would include a 3G UTMS in most areas.
  10. Ladybird
    Offline

    Ladybird iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North west England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks again all help. Yes I will check with hospital.......Wonder how long 3GB lasts (roughly). Sorry for being so stupid......
  11. TheRambler
    Offline

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Depends what your doing, see below....


    How Big is 1,000 Megabytes?


    Similar activities often vary in the amount of usage they generate however we have provided several examples here to help you better understand the relationship between online activities and the amount of usage they may incur.

    Each of the activities below would generate 1,000 MB of data transfer:

    View over 2,000 web pages
    Send 100,000 e-mails with no attachments
    Receive up to 1,000 average quality digital photos
    Download 250 songs
    Stream 16 hours of music
    Watch 5.5 hours of streaming video
    Download 1.5 standard definition movies

    There are 1,000mb=1GB

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
  12. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    There is nothing stupid at all about your questions, we have all had to learn at some time, so you have absolutely nothing to apologise for.......I learn something new every time that I come here.

    The Archangel
  13. Ladybird
    Offline

    Ladybird iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North west England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I would mainly want to watch i player in hospital.
  14. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,098
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +748 / 0
    Well that is roughly 16.5hrs worth of iPlayer at 3GB.....that's quite a few episodes of corrie. You can top up data on line and no charges for data usage while on the "3" website (not that it would be a big cost).

    BTW, you might want to take a look at the FilmOn app, as it gives access to all the major channels and many others. There is also players for itv and channel 4.

    The Archangel
  15. scudder
    Offline

    scudder iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Also have a look at TVcatchup App, again all major UK TV almost live streaming to the iPad. It is free, just have to register.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

hide ip