International support wi fi & 3g

Discussion in 'International iPad Users' started by col.bris, May 18, 2010.

  1. tlviken

    tlviken iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Need urgent help!

    Hi!

    I bought my iPad in Germany when it was launched there, but I live in Norway.
    Anyhow, I really love my iPad, and I have been protecting it well with hardcase around it and so on..

    The problem is: When I try to turn ON my iPad, you can see that the screen backlight gets turned on. And thats about it. If you try to push the screen, you can hear it "unlocking" or starting other apps, but still, the screen remains on backlight. :( No apple logo or anything.

    What I´ve tried so far: First, I tried reset. Many times. Didnt work. I have tried to restore it, without luck, 2 times. Tried to let the battery drain out, and charge it, didnt work. Finally, I called Apple Support today because I heard the support is international. But it turns out that no workshop in Norway will touch it since it has not been released here yet.

    Is there a solution to this? Should I ship it abroad to get it fixed or wait a few months for it to get released here?

    If I should ship it abroad, how do I do this? the apple support guy on the phone didnt know. :/

    Any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. tlviken

    tlviken iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0


    Wow, it looks like I finally solved the problem. My iPad has been like this for 4 days now, and what I did is that i just tried to push hard, but still gently, all over specific areas of the screen. My iPad just reset itself and now it works just fine! Pretty weird, but at least I wont have to ship it abroad.
     
  3. Java888

    Java888 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Time
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi Sehat,

    I went to XL cell phone carrier at Pondak Indah Mall and purchased a Rp100.000, 3G data sim card. Then I went to Toko PDA and asked them to cut the sim-card to the mini sim card size. Fortunately, I have 3G access now. However, I will go to Indostat in the near future in Kunnigan as I heard that they are currently selling the latest 3G mini-sim card and have better coverage area in Jakarta. Btw, just tip the technicians at Toko PDA +/-Rp20,000 for helping you cut the card. If I am not mistaken, the card is limited to 500mb/month. I did a speedtest and I have download speed +/-1.5 mbps. Good luck and keep us inform.
     
  4. FirstApple

    FirstApple iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    China
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No 3G connection

    I bought my ipad64gb3g in US. after 2 months of use here in zhuhai china, lastweek, my 3G icon is gone and only full bars chinaunicom and ... I still have 150RMB on my card. I have tried evrything re-input apn, restart my ipad, reset network setting, remove reinsert sim card still no 3g icon and cannot connect to internet outside wifi network.

    Anyone can help before i get a new sim card?
    Thanks.
     
  5. IpadOne

    IpadOne iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,247
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Asia
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0

    My iPad 3G (also come from US) , work fine in Guangzhou with Unicom too , have you try to reset network setting ?

    Setting> general > reset > reset network settings

    Some days ago i have bluetooth problem i did that and now my keyboard work like a charm

    maybe that will also work for you

    I hope that help
     
  6. Marty58

    Marty58 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Excellent Advice

    BIG THANKS TO ZORBAN, i tried these settings and it worked, thanks for the information:D

    Telkomsel Setting:
    Access Point Name : telkomsel
    Username : wap
    Password : wap123

    Or:

    Telkomsel

    APN: Internet
    User ID: wap (or you can leave it blank)
    Password: wap123 (or you can leave it blank)

    One of them should work.
    Also If you cut the card down yourself then make sure the ipad does not report sim not present.
    You could insert the sim into a phone to make sure it works with data before cutting/ using it on the ipad.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  7. voodookills31

    voodookills31 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    san antonio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hey all. Bought an iPad on post here in germany. Might be a dumb question, but it feels crappy to not use apps that are only used in the us like pandora and such. Is there a way around it?
     
  8. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,790
    Thanks Received:
    543
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +639 / 1
    Welcome to the forum I understand your issue. Do you have a US itunes account or just German? There is a way to set up a itunes account using US itunes cards however apps like Pandora can detect where you are and prevent you from using the services. In saying that you have full access to the itunes Apps in USA plus movies,tv, music News etc If you do not have the US account set up let me know with a private message and I will give you the details on how to access it.. Your cost for a $50 itunes card is total $52 ( just $2 more)

    Once you have the US account you can sync both the itune stores I have accounts with US, Great Britain and Australia.

    For the record the only reason I do not publish the details in the forum as it contains email addresses and the name of the contact i USA I have no financial gain in this it is purely a service which I subscribe to.

    My house hold has 2 x iphone 3 2x iphone 4 1x ipad, ix ipod touch 1x ipod nano 1 x older Apple TV and a Mac book.......All sync fine from 3 Itunes stores.
    \Hope this helps
     
  9. fer0006

    fer0006 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hi, i live outside of usa, and i want to buy the ipad 2 3g, however my country is not selling it yet. I plan to travel to usa and i woul like to buy it, but as i see they are only selling it for verizon and at&t, i dont know if it will work in my country with another provider.
     
  10. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    The Verizon model will only work in the US because it uses the CDMA 3G protocol that only exists in the US.

    The AT&T model uses GSM, which will work in almost any other country in the world, with the notable exception, I believe, of Japan. You will need to initialise the iPad in the US but then it will work in your country with a locally-obtained microSIM - if you can't get a microSIM a regular SIM can (literally) be cut to size to fit the iPad - you can easily find details on the web.

    Tim
    Scotland
     
  11. Nbrett1

    Nbrett1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Please could you help, I want to find out which network my iPad is locked onto, it shows all south African networks available, but when I try to connect to vodacom my service provider it says network access restricted
     
  12. Nbrett1

    Nbrett1 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Could you perhaps help me to understand why my iPad says network restricted whilst showing the local networks available I am in south Africa and cannot access the vodacom network or any network here because of this
     
  13. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    What SIM card do you have in your iPad? This message usually means that the SIM card in your iPad is from a service provider that does not have a roaming agreement with the network you are trying to join. So you need to be sure to get a SIM card that's compatible with the network you want to operate with. For example, if you want to join the Vodacom network, then you'll need a Vodocom SIM card and account.

    Get back to us if there's a further problem

    Tim
     
  14. KaiHD

    KaiHD iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    562
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I already have an iTunes USA account. Can you PM me sbout the service you use to get the prepaid iTunes card? All the ones I found online cost a lot more (More than $2).
     
  15. ceerou

    ceerou iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ceerouault@gmail.com
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Accessing different Itunes stores

    I bought an IPAD2 in US and registered it there. I live part-time in France and I would like to access apps and films from the French itunes store but not lose my US apps and be able to switch between US and French stores in the future. Can you tell me how to do this?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apn 3 untuk ipad
,
apn ipad telkomsel
,
apn telkomsel ipad
,
ipad 4 telkomsel
,
jakarta 3g card
,
setting ipad telkomsel
,
setting telkomsel untuk mini ipad
,
telkomsel apn setting ipad
,

telkomsel ipad

,
telkomsel ipad setting