Installing your own apps, manually, on the iPad?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by CuriousJay, Dec 27, 2010.

1. CuriousJay

CuriousJay iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I searched the forums first, but since I'm new to jailbreaking/cracking iOS devices within the last two months or so I might have overlooked the right search terms.

Here is my situation. I have a jailbroken iPad. I have this really stubborn app that will not freaking sync to my iPad. It's a free application I downloaded through the iTunes Appstore. When I went to install it from the iPad itself it said I had to sync to iTunes. Fine. I downloaded it in iTunes, I synced it, it never appears on the actual iPad. Super annoying.

Here's the thing though. The app is just sitting in /Mobile Applications/ in my iTunes directory as a .IPA file. I know I can install third party .IPA files on my iPad because I've installed dozens of them. When I try to manually install the .IPA file from my /Mobile Applications/ directory onto my iPad however the installation fails (note: it says it installed successfully but the app is no where to be found).

What do I have to do to get the .IPA file that I downloaded legitimately from iTunes from my computer to the iPad since the sync process is failing?

Thanks guys!
  2. Clickclickw00t

Clickclickw00t iPF Novice

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    what is the app?
  3. f4780y

f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +635 / 0
    Are you sure it's compatible? There are a handful of apps I have come across which will not run on iPad using the iPhone mode which is why you cannot install them...
  4. CuriousJay

CuriousJay iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Two apps actually (I didn't notice the other one hadn't synced); Bang! The Official Video Game and BodyMedia FIT.

It sure would be nice if they made that readily apparent. I found out that wasn't the case in this instance.