What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Install single app without full sync?

SpiderHunter

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello,

First, please forgive me if this is a FAQ - I'm a newbie here (note post count!). Anyway, I tried to download a commercial app today, but it wouldn't load. It ended up in my iTunes library, and a popup box on the iPad recommended we sync it from there.

However, in order to do this, we had to back up first (which took ages), and then sync everything back. There doesn't seem to be any way of selecting all apps, other than one at a time, for syncing from iTunes to the iPad, but if all aren't selected I get a warning message that not all my apps will be re-synced.

What is the easiest thing to do here? I've tried syncing in both directions, I've tried selecting the new app, and it obstinately refuses to load onto the iPad. Is there any third party software which will allow the loading of just one app, without going through the maddening syncing business?

Thanks!
-S.

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I have a well-known aversion to iTunes and have never synchronised my iPad except on day 1 - when I had no choice. I download all my apps directly to my iPad using either 3G (if they're less than 20 MB) or (unfortunately) WiFi if they're larger than 20 MB. There is absolutely no need to download apps to your PC first and then sync with the iPad.

Tim

OP
S

SpiderHunter

iPF Noob
Reaction score